Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo



Fred Cobain MLA (Chairperson)
Michelle McIlveen MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Cathal Boylan MLA
Allan Bresland MLA
Willie Clarke MLA
Tommy Gallagher MLA
Raymond McCartney MLA
Ian McCrea MLA
George Robinson MLA

In Attendance:
Roisin Kelly (Assembly Clerk)
Trevor Allen (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
Andrew Larmour (Clerical Supervisor)
Alison Ferguson (Clerical Officer)

Danny Kinahan MLA
Brian Wilson MLA

1. Roads Structural Maintenance; Study Visit

The Committee undertook a site visit to view a road resurfacing scheme at Maguiresbridge, County Fermanagh.

The meeting commenced at 10.51am in open session.

2. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

Members noted papers which were tabled for consideration later in the meeting.

3. Draft Minutes of Meeting held on 25 November 2009

Agreed : The minutes with one agreed revision, were agreed for publication on the Assembly’s website.

4. Matters Arising
5. December Monitoring Round

10.53am The meeting moved into closed session

Members noted the Department for Regional Development ’s submission to the December 2009 Monitoring Round, which had been marked as restricted by the Department.  

Agreed: Members agreed a response to the Department, subject to agreed amendments, on the Department for Regional Development December 2009 Monitoring Round position.

11.15am The meeting returned in open session

6. Subordinate Legislation

Members noted the following Departmental proposal to make subordinate legislation:

Members noted that the SL1 memo from the Department on the above proposal made no reference to its having been the subject of a public inquiry. Members noted that the Department had confirmed that the police service and relevant local council affected by the above proposal have been informed, and the Committee office has not received any comments from the relevant council regarding this policy proposal.

Members consideredthe following Departmental proposals to make subordinate legislation, which were noted at the Committee meeting on 25 November 2009:

Agreed: that the Committee would write to the Department, indicating that it is content with the policy merits of these SL1s.

7. Departmental briefing on roads structural maintenance

Members noted the following papers:

A. A copy of the Snaith Report “A review of structural maintenance funding requirements for the Roads Service” ; and

B. Additional information provided by the Department for Regional Development in response to Members’ queries raised at the meeting of 14 October 2009.

The Committee received a technical briefing and overview of expenditure on structural roads maintenance from Geoff Allister and Dr Andrew Murray of Roads Service.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Minister for Regional Development, Conor Murphy MP, MLA, reiterating its concerns in relation to funding for structural maintenance of the roads network. Members also agreed to consider further action on the issue following receipt of the Minister’s response to this correspondence.

11.58am Mr McCrea left the meeting

8. Correspondence

Members noted the following press releases from the Department:

Members noted the following invitations:

Members noted the following report:

9. Any Other Business

Agreed: Members noted receipt of a paper on the proposed extension of the runway at George Best Belfast City Airport that had been requested by the Committee following the briefing on the issue at the meeting on 25 November 2009.

Agreed: Members considereda revised forward work programme for the Committee and agreed that the revised work programme should be published on the Assembly website.

Members noted that an informal meeting of the Committee had been scheduled for 7 December 2009 at 12.30pm on the issue of the 2008 Drinking Water Quality in Northern Ireland report of the Northern Ireland Environment Agency.

Agreed: Members considered and agreed that Christmas cards, issued on behalf of the Committee, should be distributed as e-cards, as opposed to traditional cards. Members were content that the Chairperson would approve the distribution list.

10. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, 9 December 2009 at 10.30 am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 12.12pm.

Fred Cobain , MLA
Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development
9 December 2009

25 November 09 / Menu