Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


Fred Cobain MLA (Chairperson)
Michelle McIlveen MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Cathal Boylan MLA
Allan Bresland MLA
Willie Clarke MLA
Billy Leonard MLA
Trevor Lunn MLA
George Robinson MLA

In Attendance:
Roisin Kelly (Assembly Clerk)
Trevor Allen (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
Andrew Larmour (Clerical Supervisor)
Alison Ferguson (Clerical Officer)

Danny Kinahan MLA
Ian McCrea MLA
Conall McDevitt MLA

The meeting commenced at 10.33am in open session.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

Members noted papers which were tabled for consideration later in the meeting.

2. Draft Minutes of Meeting held on 2 June 2010

Agreed : The minutes were agreed for publication on the Assembly’s website.

3. Matters Arising

10.34am Mr Clarke joined the meeting.
10.36am Mr Lunn joined the meeting.

4. Tribunal Reform Programme Consultation

The Committee noted correspondence from the Department of Justice and the Committee for Justice in relation to the Tribunal Reform Programme consultation.

Agreed: The Committee considered and agreed its response to the Committee for Justice on this consultation.

5. Subordinate Legislation

Members noted the following Departmental proposal to make subordinate legislation:

Members noted that the SL1 memo from the Department on the above proposal made no reference to its having been the subject of a public inquiry. Members noted that the Department has confirmed that the police service and relevant local council affected by the above proposal has been informed, and the Committee office has not received any comments from the relevant council regarding this policy proposal.

Members considered the following Departmental proposal to make subordinate legislation, which was noted at the Committee meeting on 2 June 2010:

Agreed: Members agreed that the Committee would write to the Department, indicating that it was content with the policy merits of this SL1.

Members considered the following statutory rule which was laid in the Assembly’s Business Office by the Department for Regional Development and is subject to the negative resolution procedure. Members noted that the Examiner of Statutory Rules will report on this rule in the Seventeenth Report to the Assembly for 2009/10.

In the absence of any objection, the following question was put and agreed:

‘That the Committee for Regional Development has considered 2010/183 The Penalty Charges (Exemption from Criminal Proceedings) (Amendment) Regulations ( Northern Ireland) 2010 and, subject to the report of the Examiner of Statutory Rules, has no objection to the rule.’

All those in favour: Cathal Boylan, Allan Bresland, Willie Clarke, Fred Cobain, Billy Leonard, Trevor Lunn and Michelle McIlveen.

Those against: None.

All Members present voted. No Members present abstained.

Members decided that the Committee Clerk would inform the Business Office of the decision made today.

6. Correspondence

The Committee noted the Consumer Council’s research report “Flights and Rights”.

The Committee noted correspondence from the Northern Ireland Audit Office in relation to a good practice efficiency checklist for the public sector.

Members noted the following Translink press release:

Members noted the following Departmental press releases:

7. Any Other Business

Agreed: Members considered a revised forward work programme for the Committee and agreed that the revised work programme should be published on the Assembly website.

8. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, 16 June 2010, at 10.30 am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

10.39am Mr Robinson joined the meeting

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 10.39am.

Michelle McIlveen, MLA
Deputy Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development
16 June 2010

02 June 10 / Menu