Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo



Fred Cobain MLA (Chairperson)
Michelle McIlveen MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Cathal Boylan MLA
Willie Clarke MLA
Tommy Gallagher MLA
Danny Kinahan MLA
Raymond McCartney MLA
Ian McCrea MLA
Brian Wilson MLA

In Attendance:
Roisin Kelly (Assembly Clerk)
Trevor Allen (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
Andrew Larmour (Clerical Supervisor)
Alison Ferguson (Clerical Officer)

Allan Bresland MLA
George Robinson MLA

The meeting commenced at 10.33am in open session.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

Members noted papers which were tabled for consideration later in the meeting.

10.38am The Chairperson adjourned the meeting
11.32am The meeting resumed in open session
11.32am Mr Kinahan, Mr Boylan and Mr McCartney joined the meeting

2. Draft Minutes of Meeting held on 4 November 2009

Agreed : The minutes were agreed for publication on the Assembly’s website.

3. Matters Arising
4. Committee Stage of the Water and Sewerage Services (Amendment) Bill 2009

The Committee took evidence from Richard Pengelly and Adrian Arbuthnot from the Department of Finance and Personnel. The session was recorded by Hansard.

12.06pm Mr McCrea left the meeting

The Committee took evidence from John Corey, Peter Bunting and Damian Bannon from the Northern Ireland Committee of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions (NIC-ICTU). The session was recorded by Hansard.

The officials offer their apologies for any confusion caused by their correspondence which was sent as correspondence from NIPSA but should have been issued in their capacity as NIC-ICTU representatives.

12.17pm Miss McIlveen left the meeting
12.24pm Mr McCrea returned to the meeting
12.32pm The meeting moved into closed session
12.41pm The meeting resumed in open session
12.42pm Mr Kinahan and Mr Gallagher left the meeting

5. Septic Tanks: Research Paper

Members noted the following papers:

The Committee received a briefing on the research paper from Assembly Research Services.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to seek addition information from Assembly Research Services on a number of issues raised during the briefing. The Committee and also agreed to write to the Department for Regional Development, Northern Ireland Water and the Consumer Council for Northern Ireland on issues raised during the briefing session.

6. Subordinate Legislation

Members noted the following Departmental proposals to make subordinate legislation:

Members noted that the SL1 memos from the Department on the above proposals made no reference to their having been the subject of a public inquiry and that the Department does not, at this time, anticipate the need for a public inquiry. Members noted that the Department had confirmed that the police service and relevant local councils affected by the above proposals have been informed, and the Committee office has not received any comments from the relevant councils regarding these policy proposals.

Members consideredthe following Departmental proposals to make subordinate legislation, which had been noted at the Committee meeting on 4 November 2009:

Agreed: that the Committee writes to the Department indicating that it is content with the policy merits of these SL1s.

7. Correspondence

Members noted the following newsletter:

Members noted the following report:

“Delivery of the Northern Ireland Biodiversity Strategy – The second report of the Northern Ireland Biodiversity Group 2005-2009”.

Members noted the following press releases from the Department:

Members also noted the following press release from Northern Ireland Water:

8. Any Other Business

Agreed: Members considereda revised forward work programme for the Committee and agreed that the revised work programme should be published on the Assembly website.

Agreed: Members agreed that the Committee should hold its meeting on 2 December at the Killyhevlin Hotel, Enniskillen, and that a site visit to a road surfacing scheme should take place at Maguiresbridge, Co. Fermanagh following the meeting.

9. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

12.58pm Mr Gallagher returned to the meeting

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, 18 November 2009 at 10.30 am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 12.59pm.

Fred Cobain, MLA
Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development
18 November 2009

04 November 09 / Menu