Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo




Present: Fred Cobain MLA (Chairperson)
Jim Wells MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Cathal Boylan MLA
John Dallat MLA
William Irwin MLA
John McCallister MLA
Raymond McCartney MLA
Stephen Moutray MLA
George Robinson MLA
Brian Wilson MLA

In Attendance: Debbie Pritchard (Principal Clerk)
Roisin Kelly (Assembly Clerk)
Gillian Lyness (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
Clairita Frazer (Clerical Supervisor)
Linda Hare (Clerical Supervisor)
Tom Skelton (Clerical Officer)
Stephanie Galbraith (Researcher)

Apologies: Willie Clarke MLA

The meeting opened at 10.05 in public session.

1. Apologies.

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Chairperson’s Business

The Chairperson thanked the Members for providing their leave plans over the summer. The Members agreed that they would schedule meetings over the summer recess after meeting Paddy Hillyard, Chairperson of the Independent Review Panel on 4 July 2007.

3. Draft Minutes.

Minutes of the meeting of 13 June 2007 were agreed.

4. Matters Arising.

The Committee noted:

Replies from the Department in response to letters of 23 May 2007, 24 May 2007 and 30 May 2007. Members noted this information and agreed to return to this at next week’s meeting.

5. Oral Briefings from Stakeholders – issues for Water Review.

John McCallister declared an interest as he is a member of the Ulster Farmers Union.

Oral briefings were received from the following stakeholders:

Stephen Moutray left the meeting 11.25
Meeting adjourned at 11.25 am.
Meeting reconvened at 11.35

Jim Wells joined the meeting at 12.19

George Robinson left the meeting at 12.42

Committee adjourned for Lunch at 12.57.

Committee reconvened at 14.03.

Oral Briefings were received from the following stakeholders:

George Robinson rejoined the meeting at 14.17

The stakeholders gave a short presentation to the Committee followed by a question and answer session. The Chairperson thanked all the stakeholders for taking the time to attend the meeting. The Committee resolved that any additional material requested during the briefings be forwarded to the Committee. The Committee resolved that stakeholders be encouraged to make a submission to the independent panel of the Review of Water and Sewerage, and to copy these submissions to the Committee.

Oral briefing session ended at 15.27

Jim Wells rejoined the meeting at 15.31
William Irwin left the meeting at 15.35

6. Subordinate Legislation.

Members decided they were content with the following SL1s noted at the meeting of 13 June 2007:

Members resolved to note the following newly received SL1s:

Committee agreed to be briefed next week, 27 June 2007, by the Department on SL1 The Street Works (2007 Amendment Order) (Commencement No.1) (Northern Ireland) 2007.

7. Brief from Researcher - Draft Disability Action Plan.

The Researcher briefed the Committee on the Draft Disability Action Plan. The Committee decided to issue a response on the Draft Disability Action Plan to the Department this week.

8. Draft Disability Action Plan

Margaret Langhammer, Head of Equality Unit and Brendan Devlin, Head of Corporate Services for the Department briefed the Committee on the Draft Disability Action Plan. The Committee thanked the senior officials for their briefing and informed them a response would be forwarded to the Department this week.

9. Correspondence

Members noted correspondence from Advice NI.

10. Any other Business.

Members agreed to issue a press release reflecting the issues discussed at today’s meeting, to be cleared by the Chairperson and deputy Chairperson.

11. Date, venue and time of next meeting.

The Committee agreed that the next meeting be held on Wednesday 27 June 2007 at 10.00am in Room 144.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 15.42

Signed: Fred Cobain MLA
Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development.

13 June 2007 / Menu