Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


Minutes of Proceedings

Wednesday, 06 JUNE 2007

Fred Cobain MLA (Chairperson)
Jim Wells MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Cathal Boylan MLA
John Dallat MLA
William Irwin MLA
John McCallister MLA
Raymond McCartney MLA
George Robinson MLA
Brian Wilson MLA

In Attendance:
Debbie Pritchard (Principal Assembly Clerk)
Roisin Kelly (Assembly Clerk)
Gillian Lyness (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
Clairita Frazer (Clerical Supervisor)
Tom Skelton (Clerical Officer)
Stephanie Galbraith (Researcher)

Willie Clarke MLA
Stephen Moutray MLA

The meeting opened at 10.04 am in public session.

  1. Apologies.

Apologies are detailed above.

  1. Draft Minutes.

Minutes of the meeting of 30 May 2007 were agreed

  1. Matters Arising.

The Committee noted:

  1. Subordinate Legislation.

The Committee noted that SL1 The Harbour Works (Environment Impact Assessment) Regulations ( Northern Ireland) 2007 is cross-cutting with DARD. Members agreed that consideration of this SL1 is to be deferred until views are received from the DARD Committee.

Cathal Boylan asked for further information on SL1 The Waiting Restrictions (Keady) Order ( Northern Ireland) 2007.

The Committee resolved it was content, with the above two exceptions, with the SL1s tabled on 23 May 2007 and 30 May 2007.

  1. Revised Work Programme.

Members noted revisions to the work programme. The Committee resolved to ask the Minister to brief the Committee on 4 July 2007.

  1. Correspondence.

Members noted the following correspondence:

  1. Research Papers

The Committee noted the following research papers:

Meeting went into closed session – 10.22 am
Meeting went into public session – 10.25 am.

  1. Briefing from Northern Ireland Water Ltd.

Senor executives from Northern Ireland Water Ltd (NIWL), Katharine Bryan, Chief Executive, Chris Mellor, Chairman, Ronan Larkin, Director of Finance and Regulation, and William Duddy, Director of Customer Services, gave a short presentation to the Committee. Following a questions and answer session the Officials agreed to forward additional information to the Committee.

NIWL executives left the meeting 12.06 pm.
Meeting went into closed session 12.08 pm.

  1. Letter to Minister on Review of Water and Sewerage.

Members agreed the paragraphs to be included in a letter to the Minister on the terms of reference for the Review of Water and Sewerage. Members decided that the Chairperson should forward the letter, as amended, to the Minister today.

  1. Date, venue and time of next meeting.

The Committee agreed that the next meeting be held on Wednesday 13 June 2007 at 10.00am and in Room 144.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 12.25 pm.

Signed: Fred Cobain MLA
Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development.

Dated: ………………………………………….


30 May 2007 / MENU