Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


Date: 13 June 2007
FP 04/07
Embargo: None

The Northern Ireland Assembly’s Statutory Committee for Finance and Personnel met today in Parliament Buildings. The Committee heard evidence on the Executive’s Review of the new domestic rating system. This will undertake an accelerated examination of the new rating system to identify ways for improvement that can be implemented in April 2008 and will also examine alternatives to the new system as a means of identifying options for longer term change.

Speaking after the meeting Committee Chairperson, Mitchel McLaughlin, MLA, said:

“The Committee welcomed the Review of the new domestic rating system and, in particular, the confirmation from the Minister that the scope of the Review will be broad and flexible and that as a point of principle nothing has been ruled out, or in. The Committee also welcomed a commitment from the Department of Finance and Personnel to engage fully with the Committee and to report to the Committee on the outcome of the Review consultation in September, when members will have a further opportunity to influence the Department’s recommendations both in respect of the short term and long term changes to domestic rating policy”.



The Committee for Finance and Personnel is one of 11 Statutory Committees of the Northern Ireland Assembly, which are set up to advise and assist each Northern Ireland Minister in the formulation of policy with respect to matters within his/her responsibilities as a Minister. Statutory Committees have powers as described in Strand One of the Belfast Agreement i.e. a scrutiny, policy development and consultation role with respect to the department with which each is associated, together with a role in the initiation of legislation.

As per paragraph 9 of Strand One of the Belfast Agreement, Statutory Committees have the power to:

The Committee for Finance and Personnel has eleven Members:

Mitchel McLaughlin (Chairperson) (Sinn Fein)
Mervyn Storey (Deputy Chairperson) (DUP)
Roy Beggs (UUP)
Dr Stephen Farry ( Alliance)
Simon Hamilton (DUP)
Fra McCann (Sinn Fein)
Jennifer McCann (Sinn Fein)
Adrian McQuillan (DUP)
Declan O’Loan (SDLP)
Dawn Purvis (PUP)
Peter Weir (DUP)

Media enquiries should be addressed to:

Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office, Room B2, Parliament Buildings, Belfast BT4 3XX.

Telephone 028 9052 1137.

Further information on the work of the Committee is available on the Committee pages of the Northern Ireland Assembly website: