Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


Present: Ms Jennifer McCann MLA (Chairperson)
Mr David McNarry (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Jonathan Craig MLA
Dr Stephen Farry MLA
Mr Simon Hamilton MLA
Mr Mitchel McLaughlin MLA
Mr Declan O’Loan MLA

In Attendance: Mr Shane McAteer (Assembly Clerk)
Miss Karen Jardine (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
Mrs Kathy O’Hanlon (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
Mr David McKee (Clerical Supervisor)
Mr Dominic O’Farrell (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: Mr Fra McCann MLA
Ms Dawn Purvis MLA

The meeting commenced at 10.04 am in open session.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Draft Minutes of Proceedings of 12 May 2010

Agreed: that the minutes are published on the Assembly website.

3. Matters Arising
Composite Request

The Committee noted the composite request for information from DFP which provided an update on any matters arising not covered elsewhere on the agenda.

Dr Farry joined the meeting at 10.06am.

Support for Carers

The Committee considered correspondence from the Committee for Health, Social Services and Public Safety regarding the proposed establishment of an ad hoc joint committee to consider additional support for carers.

Agreed: to undertake research to inform: a draft outline Terms of Reference for the proposed ad hoc joint committee; an indicative timeframe for its work; and, to clarify the estimated savings for the public purse from the work of carers.

Equal Pay

The Committee considered correspondence from the Civil Service Pensioners’ Alliance and from a retired civil servant regarding the Equal Pay settlement for the Northern Ireland Civil Service.

Mr Hamilton joined the meeting at 10.16am.

Agreed: to invite DFP officials to an evidence session to respond to specific queries raised with regard to the anomalies that have arisen from the Equal Pay settlement.

Dr Farry left the meeting at 10.39am.

4. Banking Issues: Allied Irish Bank and First Trust Bank (Evidence from IBOA - The Finance Union)

The Committee received a briefing from Larry Broderick, General Secretary IBOA; Steve Tweed, Senior Industrial Relations Official, IBOA; Robin Bell, First Trust Bank staff member, IBOA; and Sharon McAuley, First Trust Bank staff member, IBOA, on the Allied Irish Bank’s (AIB) plans to sell the First Trust Bank and AIB GB operations.

Mr McNarry left the meeting at 11.10am.
Mr McNarry returned to the meeting at 11.20am.
Dr Farry returned to the meeting at 11.20am.

Agreed: to propose, through the relevant committees, that the Ministers of Finance and Personnel and Enterprise, Trade and Investment, along with the First Minister and deputy First Minister, seek an urgent meeting with the IBOA delegation in order to bring forward a view to the NI Executive about an appropriate way forward, which may include representation to the AIB Board and to the Minister for Finance in the Republic of Ireland.

5. Committee Report on the Inquiry into Public Sector Efficiencies - Consideration of draft Report

As agreed, the meeting moved into closed session at 11.58am.

Members considered a working draft of the Committee’s Report on its Inquiry into Public Sector Efficiencies.

Mr Hamilton left the meeting at 11.57am
Mr Hamilton returned to the meeting at 12.02pm
Mr Craig left the meeting at 12.06pm.
Mr O’Loan left the meeting at 12.20pm.

Agreed: that the draft Report will be amended, taking account of points raised, and will be brought to the Committee for formal consideration at next week’s meeting.

Mr McNarry left the meeting at 12.26pm.

6. Assembly Research Briefing – Resources Available for Supporting Legislatures in their Budget Scrutiny Role.
The Committee received a briefing from Assembly Research on resources available for supporting legislatures in their budget scrutiny role .
7. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, 26 May 2010 at 10.00 am in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting ended at 12.46pm as quorum was lost.

Jennifer McCann, Chairperson
Committee for Finance and Personnel
26 May 2010