Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo



Present: Mervyn Storey MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Roy Beggs MLA
Dr Stephen Farry MLA
Simon Hamilton MLA
Fra McCann MLA
Adrian McQuillan MLA
Declan O’Loan MLA
Dawn Purvis MLA

In Attendance: Shane McAteer (Assembly Clerk)
Vivien Ireland (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
Colin Jones (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
Paul Woods (Clerical Supervisor)
Mary Thompson (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: Mitchel McLaughlin MLA (Chairperson)
Jennifer McCann MLA
Peter Weir MLA

The meeting commenced at 10.05am in open session.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Draft Minutes of Proceedings 30 May 2007

It was agreed to make the following additions to reflect interests declared under EU Programmes:

Mr McCann as a member of the Divis Joint Development Committee.
Mr Storey as a member of Peace II Monitoring.

The draft minutes were agreed as amended for publication on the Assembly website.

3. Matters Arising

Members noted the Department of Finance and Personnel’s (DFP) response in respect of the Interim Programme for Government.

Members, also noted that DFP would provide a copy of the report entitled ‘Cost of Division – Shared Future Strategy, once the document was finalised. The Department would also provide clarification on any responsibilities falling to it as a result of the report.

4. Varney Review – Taxation Policy and Economic Growth

Agreed that a letter will be sent from the Committee to a range of organisations in the business and community/voluntary sectors to inform them of the opportunity to make submissions directly to the Varney Review and to invite responses to the Committee on specific fiscal issues.

Agreed that members will provide the Clerk with names of relevant organisations by the end of the day.

5. Briefing on DFP’s Proposed Bids and Easements for June Monitoring Round

Members were briefed on the Departmental Financial Planning 2007/08 – June Monitoring Position, by DFP officials, including Chris Thompson, Head of Corporate Services Group, Jim O’Hagan, Finance Director and Deborah McNeilly, Assistant Finance Director.

Agreed that the Clerk to the Committee will seek information on underspends in respect of 2006/07, including comparison figures for the Westminster departments.

6. Briefing on Workplace 2010 and Public Sector Jobs Location

Members were briefed on Workplace 2010 and Public Sector Jobs Location by DFP officials, including Chris Thompson, Head of Corporate Services Group, Olive Maybin, Communications Manager and Emma Wilson, Project Manager. The session was recorded by Hansard for publication on the Committee website.

Agreed that the Clerk to the Committee will seek the further information which the DFP officials agreed to provide, including a list of NICS buildings to be kept/sold/potentially sold, number of civil servants to be re-located and the Department’s analysis of audit report findings on PFI contracts.

7. Correspondence on Forthcoming Statutory Rules

The Committee noted the correspondence from DFP on forthcoming statutory rules.

8. Correspondence to Note

The Committee noted the following correspondence:

9. Draft Press Release

Agreed press release for issue.

10. Any Other Business

Members considered a revised draft of the Committee work programme.

Agreed that the revised programme will be published on the Assembly website.

11. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, 13 June 2007 at 10.00am in Room 152 Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 12.25pm.

Mervyn Storey, Deputy Chairperson,
Committee for Finance and Personnel.
13 June 2007.

30 May 2007 / Menu / 13 May 2007