Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo

05 July 2007



The Northern Ireland Assembly’s Committee for the Environment met today with the Minister, Arlene Foster, to discuss targets to reduce the amount of pollutants that can be released into the environment.

The Minister also updated the Committee on the Local Government aspects of the Review of Public Administration and the intention to set up a sub-committee to look at the transfer of functions and the number of councils.

Professor Sharon Turner briefed the Committee on the recently launched report “Foundations for the Future” setting out proposed changes to the way the environment is managed in Northern Ireland.

Patsy McGlone, Chairperson, said: “Today’s widespread discussion on the environment shows the priority which is being attached by the Committee to climate change, particularly when we see the recent flash floods. We also welcome the contribution from the Climate Change Coalition NI and Professor Sharon Turner. We had a detailed discussion on the Review of Public Administration as we seek to develop true local government for all our citizens”.

The Committee will next meet on Thursday 06 September 2007 at 10.30am in Room 144, Parliament Buildings.

Committee Membership: -
Patsy McGlone, Chairperson
Cathal Boylan, Deputy Chairperson
Billy Armstrong
Trevor Clarke
David Ford
Tommy Gallagher
Samuel Gardiner
Alex Maskey
Ian McCrea
Daithí McKay
Peter Weir

Mrs Patricia Casey
Clerk to the Committee
Committee for the Environment,
Room 245,
Parliament Buildings,
Belfast BT4 3XX.
Telephone 028 90521347.
Fax 028 90521795.
E-mail –

Information about today’s meeting can be obtained from: -

Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office, Room B2, Parliament Buildings, Belfast BT4 3XX.
Tel No: 02890-521137/521396. Fax: 02890 521961.
Website Address –