Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo

29 June 2007

ENV 2/07


The Committee for the Environment is inviting written comments on the Taxis Bill. The Bill was introduced in the Assembly on 11 June 2007 and received its Second Reading on 26 June 2007. The Bill has now been referred to the Committee for the Environment for Committee Stage.

The Bill contains 6 main provisions. These relate to regulation of taxi operators, regulation of taxis, regulation of drivers and taxis, enforcement, general provisions relating to licences and miscellaneous provisions relating to issues that apply to the operation of the Bill and the consequent amendments and repeals.

A copy of the Bill and the associated Explanatory and Financial Memorandum are available on the Assembly website.

Individuals and organisations are invited to submit written comments on the specific provisions of the Bill by 5.00 pm on Monday 6 August 2007. Responses should be sent to the Clerk at the address below or by e-mail to

Committee Membership: -
Patsy McGlone, Chairperson
Cathal Boylan, Deputy Chairperson
Billy Armstrong
Trevor Clarke
David Ford
Tommy Gallagher
Samuel Gardiner
Alex Maskey
Ian McCrea
Daithí McKay
Peter Weir

Mrs Patricia Casey
Clerk to the Committee
Committee for the Environment,
Room 245,
Parliament Buildings,
Belfast BT4 3XX.
Telephone 028 90521347.
Fax 028 90521795.
E-mail –

Information about today’s meeting can be obtained from: -

Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office, Room B2, Parliament Buildings, Belfast BT4 3XX.
Tel No: 02890-521137/521396. Fax: 02890 521961.
Website Address –