Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo
20 June 2008
ENV 04/07/08


During its visit to Armagh on Thursday, the Environment Committee listened to the concerns of community groups and councils over planning reform, PPS 14 and the future of the proposed North-South Inter-connector.

The issues raised at the briefings will be followed-up at future meetings when the Committee invites other stakeholders to discuss the concerns raised by the aforementioned organisations.

Speaking after the meeting, the Chairperson, Mr. Patsy McGlone MLA, said:

“The Committee welcomes the opportunity to visit Armagh and hear the views of local groups. Among the issues raised, the Rural Community Network and the Rural Development Council were keen to emphasize their reservations concerning the impact of PPS 14 on rural life, while the SEAT action group and Monaghan County Council focused on the potential effects of the proposed North – South Inter-connector.

“Such meetings give the Committee the chance to engage with members of the public and various stakeholders regarding the issues that matter to them, and the Committee relishes the opportunity to converse directly with such groups.

“It is very important for the Committee to hear the views of the community, as these views will influence us as we help formulate policy and hold the Department to account”


Notes to editors:

The Committee for Environment held its meeting at the Armagh Market Place Theatre on Thursday, June 19 th.

The Committee heard briefings from the Rural Community Network, the Rural Development Council, Safe Electricity for Armagh and Tyrone and Monaghan County Council.

PPS14 is the Planning Policy Statement 14 and further information can be found on the Department of Environment website and in the minutes of the Committee for Environment meetings.

The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Patsy McGlone

The Deputy Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Cathal Boylan

The Committee has a further nine members:
Mr Billy Armstrong
Mr Trevor Clarke
Mr Ian McCrea
Mr David Ford
Mr Tommy Gallagher
Mr Sam Gardiner
Mr Daithi McKay
Mr Alastair Ross
Mr Peter Weir

The Committee has a scrutiny, policy development and consultative role, and advises the Minister of the Environment directly on the policies of the Department.

The Clerk to the Committee is:

Mrs. Patricia Casey
Clerk, Committee for the Environment
Rm 247, Parliament Buildings
Belfast BT4 3XX
Telephone: (028) 9052 1347
Fax: (028) 9052 1795

For further information, or to arrange an interview or photo opportunity, please contact:

Ms. Stephanie Mallon
Press Office,
Room B2, Parliament Buildings
Belfast BT4 3XX
Tel: 02890521953
Fax: 02890521946
Website Address –
Email –