NI Assembly Banner

Homepage > The Work of the Assembly > Committees > Environment > Press Releases



15 November 2010

ENV 04/10/11


The Assembly Committee for the Environment today released its report on the amended Waste and Contaminated Land Bill. The Bill sets out measures and responsibilities for recycling and for dealing with illegal dumping of waste.

Committee Chairperson, Cathal Boylan MLA said: “There are many aspects of this Bill that the Committee has taken an interest in. In particular, the issuing of fixed penalties for people caught abandoning waste without appropriate licenses and the extension of powers to local councils to deal with illegal dumping of waste.
“The Committee has worked with the Department to ensure the level of fines applied to illegal dumping are appropriate. We are pleased the Department has accepted our recommendation to increase the upper level of fine to £400 for more serious offences or repeat offenders.
“The Committee is especially keen to ensure that the level of fines remains appropriate. For this reason the Committee has agreed its own amendment to the Bill that would require the Department to bring any plans for fine increases to the Assembly for debate. This will ensure that any increases to fines are for the right reasons, and will not be seen as an easy way to increase revenue for councils and the Department. This is consistent with other fixed penalty fines systems currently being considered in the Assembly.
“The Committee is supportive of councils being given the same powers as the Department of the Environment to deal with the illegal dumping of waste. However, we believe it is essential that an appropriate protocol is in place before these powers are given. Without this, councils will have no clarity on their responsibilities in dealing with matters such as larger volumes of illegally dumped waste, hazardous materials or waste left on ground that has no identifiable owner.”
Notes to editors

A full copy of the Committee’s Report can be viewed here.

Committee Membership:

Mr. Cathal Boylan (Chairperson)
Mr. Patsy McGlone (Deputy Chair)
Mr. Thomas Buchanan
Mr. Trevor Clarke
Mr. Willie Clarke
Mr. John Dallat
Mr. Danny Kinahan
Mr. Alastair Ross
Mr George Savage
Mr. Peter Weir
Mr. Brian Wilson

Media enquiries to:

Jennifer Pleavin
Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 028 9052 1606
Mobile : 07502 379339

Sinead Murphy
Deputy Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 028 9052 5938
Mobile : 07899 864368

Contact Us           Jobs            Sitemap            Links           Search            RSS Feeds