Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo

Press Release

30 November 2007

EDU 05/07

Committee For Education Welcomes Agreement For Classroom Assistants

At today’s meeting of the Committee for Education, the Committee welcomed the collective agreement, by some Trade Unions, on the proposals for Classroom Assistants, which were contained in the Employers’ offer of 28 September 2007.

In welcoming this development, the Chairperson of the Committee, Mr Sammy Wilson MP MLA, said:

“I hope that this will bring all schools affected by the Classroom Assistants’ dispute back to normality as soon as possible – without further interruption to the children’s education”.



The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Sammy Wilson, MP MLA
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr Dominic Bradley MLA

The Committee has a further 9 members:
Mrs Mary Bradley MLA
Mr Paul Butler MLA
Rt. Hon Mr Jeffrey Donaldson MP MLA
Mr Trevor Lunn MLA
Mr Basil McCrea MLA
Miss Michelle McIlveen MLA
Ms Michelle O’Neill MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA
Mr Mervyn Storey MLA

The Committee has a scrutiny, policy development and consultative role, and advises the Minister of Education directly on the policies and plans of the Department.

All enquiries about the work of the Committee should be directed to:
Mr Sammy Wilson, MP
Chairperson, Committee for Education
Tel: +44 028 90521192
Fax: +44 028 90521834

John Simmons,
Clerk, Committee for Education.
Tel: +44 (0)28 9052 1787
Mobile 079 0005 3929
Fax: +44 (0)28 9052 1371
e-mail :