Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


24 June 2009
EDU 04/08/09


Members of the Northern Ireland Assembly’s Education Committee met with a range of groups today when the Committee hosted an informal reception at Parliament Buildings. The Committee wanted to hear at first hand of important issues in education here.

Education Committee Deputy Chairperson, Mr Dominic Bradley MLA, said:

“The Committee has held a number of informal receptions like this with a lot of positive feedback from both members and attendees. It’s an excellent opportunity to hear from the large number of organisations who ask to meet with the Committee.

“The informal nature of these meetings gives, and will continue to give Committee members, an opportunity to engage with various groups about the issues within education that matter to them, and we welcome the chance to speak directly with these groups.”


Notes to Editors

The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Mervyn Storey MLA
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr Dominic Bradley MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:
Mrs Mary Bradley MLA
Mr Trevor Lunn MLA
Mr John McCallister MLA
Mr Nelson McCausland MLA
Mr Basil McCrea MLA
Miss Michelle McIlveen MLA
Mr John O’Dowd MLA
Ms Michelle O’Neill MLA
Mr Edwin Poots MLA

The Committee is scheduled to meet with representatives from the following groups; Advice NI, Beechlawn School, National Association of Head Teachers, NI Association for Mental Health, Construction Industry Group, Smart Start, Northern Ireland Youth Forum, NSPCC, Early Education, Lagan College, Prince’s Trust, Samaritans and Global Dimension in Schools.

The Clerk to the Committee is:
Mr. John Simmons
Clerk, Committee for Education
Rm 242, Parliament Buildings
Belfast BT4 3XX
Tel: 02890521787
Mob: 07900053929
Fax: 02890521371

For further information, or to arrange an interview or photo opportunity, please contact:

Communications Office,
Room B4, Parliament Buildings
Belfast BT4 3XX
Tel: 028 905 21953
Fax: 028 905 21946
Website Address –
Email –