Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo

June 2008

EDU 04/08


Sixteen groups with an interest in education have been invited to meet with MLAs in Parliament Buildings by the Committee for Education. The event, the third in a series, will be held on Thursday 26 June.

The occasion will give the organisations and individuals concerned a chance to present their case and raise concerns with members of the Committee for Education.

Speaking before the event, the Chairperson of the Committee, Mr Mervyn Storey MLA, said:

“The Committee has now held two informal receptions and the feedback from both members and attendees was very positive. This reception is an excellent opportunity to hear from the large number of organisations who had asked to meet with the Committee.

“These informal meetings have given, and will continue to give, the Committee for Education the opportunity to engage with various stakeholders over the issues that matter to them, and the Committee welcomes the chance to converse directly with such groups.”


Notes to Editors

The informal reception will be held in the Long Gallery, Parliament Buildings, from 9:30am – 12.00 noon on Thursday, June 26, 2008.
The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Mervyn Storey MLA
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr Dominic Bradley MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:
Mrs Mary Bradley MLA
Mr Trevor Lunn MLA
Mr Nelson McCausland MLA
Mr Basil McCrea MLA
Miss Michelle McIlveen MLA
Mr John O’Dowd MLA
Ms Michelle O’Neill MLA
Mr Edwin Poots MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA

The Committee has a scrutiny, policy development and consultative role, and advises the Minister of Education directly on the policies of the Department.

The Clerk to the Committee is:
Mr. John Simmons
Clerk, Committee for Education
Rm 242, Parliament Buildings
Belfast BT4 3XX
Tel: 02890521787
Mob: 07900053929
Fax: 02890521371

For further information, or to arrange an interview or photo opportunity, please contact:

Ms. Stephanie Mallon
Press Office,
Room B2, Parliament Buildings
Belfast BT4 3XX
Tel: 02890521953
Fax: 02890521946
Website Address –
Email –