Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo

Press Release

3 December 2008
EDU 02/08/09


The Committee for Education examined the Craigavon two-tier schools system at a public meeting today held in Portadown College. The Committee’s objective was to gain a practical understanding of the Craigavon system compared to other transfer systems.

Chairperson of the Committee for Education, Mervyn Storey MLA, said:

“The Committee for Education is keenly aware that essential decisions on a replacement transfer system will have to be made over the coming weeks. The Craigavon system is unique within Northern Ireland and the Committee is keen to learn from its challenges and successes.
“The Committee’s goal is to ensure that we have clarity and a transfer process which serves the needs of all our young people.”

The Committee heard evidence from representatives from schools operating within the two-tier system as well as from delegates from the Craigavon Learning Community.


Notes to Editor:

The Craigavon two tier plan (also referred to as the Dickson Plan) is a system in which the majority of pupils in the Craigavon Borough Council Area attend Junior High Schools (11-14 or 11-16) before transferring to Senior High Schools.

The public meeting is scheduled for Wednesday 3 December 2008 at 10.30 in Portadown College.

Those in attendance giving evidence include representatives from both Junior and Senior High Schools, as well as representatives from the Craigavon Learning Community.

The Committee for Education is committed to holding its meetings in local community settings on a regular basis to encourage stakeholder participation and engagement at a local level.

The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Mervyn Storey MLA
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr Dominic Bradley MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:
Mrs Mary Bradley MLA
Mr Trevor Lunn MLA
Mr Nelson McCausland MLA
Mr Basil McCrea MLA
Miss Michelle McIlveen MLA
Mr John O’Dowd MLA
Ms Michelle O’Neill MLA
Mr Edwin Poots MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA

The Committee has a scrutiny, policy development and consultative role, and advises the Minister of Education directly on the policies of the Department.

The Clerk to the Committee is John Simmons
Committee for Education, Rm 242, Parliament Buildings, Belfast BT4 3XX
Tel: 02890521787
Mob: 07900053929
Fax: 02890521371

For further information, or to arrange an interview or photo opportunity, please contact:
Ms Stephanie Mallon
Press Office, Room B2, Parliament Buildings, Belfast BT4 3XX
Tel: 02890521953 Mob: 07825146794
Fax: 02890521946
Website Address –
Email –