Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo

Committee for Education

Press Release

17 November 2010

EDU 03/10/11


The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Education is to host a major event in Parliament Buildings today. The event is designed to give stakeholders and parents the chance to voice their concerns directly to Department of Education officials on the Department’s Draft Early Years (0-6) Strategy.

Speaking before the event Committee Chairperson, Mervyn Storey MLA, said: “When the Department published the Draft Early Years Strategy, both the Committee and key stakeholders raised major concerns about it. The Committee felt that this event would give parents and stakeholder representatives a platform to have their say and get clarity on the Draft Strategy directly from the Department.”

The Department of Education will present its Draft Strategy and respond to issues raised by a specialist panel of stakeholders. Invited guests will also have the opportunity to comment and ask specific questions about the impact of the Strategy.

Mr Storey MLA added: “It is hoped the event will clarify what the proposed Strategy will actually mean for children, parents, and providers of early years education and care. The importance of early years in a child’s development is not disputed. It is important to make sure that the Draft Strategy addresses the key issues and clearly sets out its objectives and how they will be achieved.”

The Committee has already talked to a number of stakeholders prior to today and taken evidence on a wide range of issues surrounding the Department’s Draft Strategy. Parents and stakeholders are reminded that the Department’s consultation period has not yet finished and that submissions can be made to the Department up to the deadline of 30 November 2010 – if they have not already done so.


Committee Membership:

Mr. Mervyn Storey (Chairperson)
Mr. David Hilditch (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr. Dominic Bradley
Mrs. Mary Bradley
Mr. Jonathan Craig
Sir Reg Empey
Mr. Trevor Lunn
Mr. Basil McCrea
Miss. Michelle McIlveen
Mr. John O’Dowd
Ms. Michelle O’Neill

The Clerk to the Committee is John Simmons
Committee for Education, Rm 242, Parliament Buildings, Ballymiscaw, Stormont Belfast BT4 3XX
Tel: 028 9052 1787
Mob: 07900 053929
Fax: 028 9052 1371

Media enquiries to:

Jennifer Pleavin
Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 028 9052 1606
Mobile : 07502 379339

Sinead Murphy
Deputy Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 028 9052 5938
Mobile : 07899 864368