Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo

Comittee for Education

Press Release

18 February 2010

EDU 05/09/10

Committee calls on Minister to review Proposals for Special Education

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Education has strongly recommended that the Minister for Education, Caitríona Ruane MLA urgently review the Department of Education’s policy proposals for Special Education Needs (SEN) and Inclusion. The call has come in light of numerous and serious concerns raised by parents and other stakeholders.

Committee Chairperson Mervyn Storey MLA said: “The Education Committee has highlighted significant concerns in its formal response to the Department’s consultation on its SEN proposals.

“The high level nature of the proposals has led the Committee to conclude that it is difficult for parents and other stakeholders to comment on the Department’s ‘proposed direction of travel’ without greater clarity about the destination – the practical implications of the policy proposals.

“The Committee has also raised concerns arising from the proposals on lines of responsibility for new multidisciplinary groups representing health, education and social care; additional work for already ‘overstretched’ teachers; the future role of special schools and whether SEN funding going directly to schools will be ring fenced.

“The Committee called for an extension of the original consultation period and welcomed the Minister’s decision to extend it, not once but twice. We hope that this indicates a willingness to address the genuine concerns of parents and other stakeholders and await a constructive response from the Minister to these concerns.”

The Committee for Education has received an unprecedented level of lobbying regarding the Consultation proposals, leading to a SEN event in Parliament Buildings on 20 January 2010. The event was organised to provide a platform for parents and interested stakeholders to raise their concerns directly with Department of Education officials.

A full copy of the Committee’s response to the Department of Education and a transcript of the Committee’s SEN event and associated papers can be found on the Committee website:

Notes to Editors

The Chair, Mr Mervyn Storey MLA, is available for interview by request. Please see media contact information below.

The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Mervyn Storey MLA
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr Dominic Bradley MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:
Mrs Mary Bradley MLA
Mr Trevor Lunn MLA
Mr John McCallister MLA
Mr Jonathan Craig MLA
Mr Basil McCrea MLA
Miss Michelle McIlveen MLA
Mr John O’Dowd MLA
Ms Michelle O’Neill MLA
Mr Alastair Ross MLA

The Clerk to the Committee is John Simmons
Committee for Education,
Rm 242, Parliament Buildings,
Belfast BT4 3XX
Tel: 028 9052 1787
Mob: 07900 053929
Fax: 028 9052 1371

For further information, or to arrange an interview or photo opportunity, please contact:

Jennifer Pleavin
Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 028 9052 1606
Mobile : 07502 379339