Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


29 January 2009

PN: CAL10/08/09


The Assembly’s Statutory Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure visited Omagh on Thursday 29 January 2009.

The Committee held its regular weekly meeting at the Ulster American Folk Park, before doing a tour of the Folk Park. In particular, the Committee looked at the site which has been set aside for the re-building of the McCallister House. This house, which was originally located in West Virginia and built in 1827, will be restored over the coming months.

The Committee then visited the Strule Arts Centre in Omagh town centre.

Mr Barry McElduff MLA, the Committee Chairperson said:

“The Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure welcomed the opportunity to visit Omagh, the County town of Tyrone and to hold our meeting in the unique surroundings of the Ulster American Folk Park.”

“The Folk Park is an exceptional facility, and it is not surprising that it was named ‘Visitor Attraction of the Year’ at the 2008 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. This is something of which I am particularly proud. I say this in a personal capacity and as MLA for the West Tyrone Constituency.”

“In the last year alone, 165,000 people passed through the gates of the Ulster American Folk Park – the highest number in its 30-year history”.

“We also enjoyed our visit to the Strule Arts Centre. “This Arts Centre is a state-of-the-art building of considerable architectural importance which provides opportunities for people to showcase their artistic talent, both to the people of Tyrone and the North West in general.”

Note to Editor

The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Barry McElduff MLA.
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr David McNarry MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:

Mr Dominic Bradley MLA
Mr Francie Brolly MLA
The Lord Browne MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
Mr Nelson McCausland MLA
Mr Pat Ramsey MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA
Mr Jim Shannon MLA

The Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure is a Statutory Departmental Committee which has a scrutiny, policy development and consultation role with respect to the Minister of Culture, Arts and Leisure and has a role in the initiation of legislation.

The Committee has the power to:

The Committee’s is currently considering the following key issues as part of its forward work programme:

The Clerk to the Committee is – Kathryn Bell
Committee Office
Northern Ireland Assembly
Room 424 Parliament Buildings
Telephone: 028 90 521841
Fax: 028 90 521355
E Mail:

For further information contact Ms Debra Savage, Northern Ireland Assembly, Press Office, Room B2, Parliament Buildings, Belfast, BT4 3XX
Telephone – 028 90 521405
Mobile: 07920 864221
Fax - 028 90 521946
Website Address –
Email –