Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


12 January 2009

PN: CAL 09/08/09


A museums policy is vital for setting out a vision for the future and the Government needs to support this strategy urgently. That’s the recommendation of the Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure (CAL) in their Report on the development of a museums policy, launched today.

The Report, which contains 28 recommendations, outlines the benefits which a museums policy will bring to the sector, particularly in terms of enhancing the role of museums in the tourism and education sectors.

Commenting on the Report, Committee Chairperson Barry McElduff MLA, said,

“This Report shows very clearly the strong support from those who run museums for the development of a museums policy. Without a policy in place, museums are missing out on opportunities to develop their potential to the maximum.
“There needs to be a cross-departmental approach to strengthening the museum sector here. Museums bring huge benefits in terms of tourism, education and creating a shared and better future for all.”

The Report also points to the need for greater integration between independent, council-run and national museums, which would lead to greater sharing of resources and marketing opportunities between museums.

Committee Chairperson Barry McElduff MLA, said,

“We are calling on the Minister to draw on the expertise which already exists within the sector to develop a fit for purpose policy within six months. Our museums sector deserves nothing less.”

Notes to Editor

The Committee for Culture Arts and Leisure is one of the statutory committees established by the Northern Ireland Assembly on 9 May 2007.

The role of the Committee as set out in Standing Orders for the Northern Ireland Assembly is “to advise and assist the Minister in the formulation of policy with respect to matters within his responsibility as Minister in charge of the Culture Arts and Leisure.

Committee Membership: -

Mr Barry - McElduff MLA - Chairperson -
Mr David McNarry MLA - Deputy Chairperson
Mr Dominic Bradley MLA
Mr Francie Brolly MLA
The Lord Browne MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
Mr Nelson McCausland MLA
Mr Pat Ramsey MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA
Mr Jim Shannon MLA

All enquiries regarding the work of the Committee should be directed to the Committee Clerk:

The Clerk to the Committee is – Kathryn Bell
Committee Office
Northern Ireland Assembly
Room 424 Parliament Buildings

Telephone: 028 90 521841
Fax: 028 90 521355

Media enquiries should be addressed to:

Ms Debra Savage,
Northern Ireland Assembly, Press Office,
Telephone – 028 90 521405/521137
Mobile: 07920 864221
Email –