Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


PN: CAL 08/08
27 November 2008


The Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure has expressed its pleasure at the decision of the Rally Ireland to launch in Fermanagh.

Committee Chairperson Barry McElduff MLA, said, “The Committee is delighted that the first round of Rally Ireland, which is part of the World Rally Championships, will take place in Enniskillen on Thursday 29 January 2009.

“We are particularly pleased that this event is being brought to Enniskillen and parts of west Tyrone, areas west of the Bann which will benefit from such an uplift. Sporting events of this scale provide top-class sporting action on people’s doorsteps, as well as bringing valuable benefits to the economy and the tourist industry.”


Notes to Editor

The Committee for Culture Arts and Leisure is one of the statutory committees established by the Northern Ireland Assembly on 9 May 2007.

The role of the Committee as set out in Standing Orders for the Northern Ireland Assembly is “to advise and assist the Minister in the formulation of policy with respect to matters within his responsibility as Minister in charge of the Culture Arts and Leisure.

Committee Membership: -

Mr Barry - McElduff MLA - Chairperson -
Mr David McNarry MLA - Deputy Chairperson
Mr Dominic Bradley MLA
Mr Francie Brolly MLA
The Lord Browne MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
Mr Nelson McCausland MLA
Mr Pat Ramsey MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA
Mr Jim Shannon MLA

All enquiries regarding the work of the Committee should be directed to the Committee Clerk: -

The Clerk to the Committee is – Kathryn Bell
Committee Office
Northern Ireland Assembly
Room 424 Parliament Buildings

Telephone: 028 90 521841
Fax: 028 90 521355

Media enquiries should be addressed to:

Ms Debra Savage,
Press Office,
Northern Ireland Assembly,
Telephone – 028 90 521405
Mobile: 07920 864221
Email –