Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo

23 July 2007

CAL 02/07


At the last meeting before the summer recess the Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure agreed to hold a special meeting during summer recess to deal with the single issue of the multi sports stadium.

The Minister for Culture, Arts and Leisure Mr Edwin Poots MLA has been invited to attend a meeting of the Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure to update members on the current position regarding the proposed multi sports stadium. The meeting will be held in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings, on Tuesday 24 July at 10.45am.

Mr Barry McElduff, Chairperson of the Committee said:

“At the Committee meeting of 5 July it was agreed to invite the Minister to update members on the multi sports stadium and that the meeting should take place urgently.

When the Committee met the Minister in early June he indicated that alternatives to the proposed Maze/Long Kesh site must be submitted by the end of June 2007 and that he intended to make a decision shortly after that.

The Committee have heard the views of representatives from the Irish Football Association, the GAA, Ulster Rugby, the Amalgamation of Football Supporters Clubs and Linfield Football Club. The groups have portrayed their views on the location of the multi sports stadium, but one thing is clear, that a decision needs to be made by the Minister sooner rather than later.

When we meet with the Minister on 24 July we hope he will state clearly and unambiguously where the department stands on this issue and the timetable for the final decision.”

Note to Editor

The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Barry McElduff.
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr David McNarry

The Committee has a further nine members:

Mr Dominic Bradley
Mr Francie Brolly
The Lord Browne
Mr Paul Maskey
Mr Kieran McCarthy
Mr Nelson McCausland
Mr Pat Ramsey
Mr Ken Robinson
Mr Jim Shannon

The Clerk to the Committee is - Linda Gregg
Committee Office
Northern Ireland Assembly
Room 424 Parliament Buildings
Telephone: 028 90 521841
Fax: 028 90 521355
E Mail:

For further information contact Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office, Room B2, Parliament Buildings, Belfast, BT4 3XX
Telephone – 028 90 521137
Fax - 028 90 521946
Website Address –
Email –