Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


1 October 2009



The Northern Ireland Assembly’s Culture, Arts and Leisure Committee has expressed its concern at changes to opening times introduced by National Museums Northern Ireland.

Mr Barry McElduff MLA, the Committee Chairperson said: “The Committee is concerned to hear that museums are to close for the first time on Mondays, which means that people will only have access to them on six out of the seven days of the week.

“This is of particular concern in the case of the Ulster Museum which is due to re-open later this month after a significant refurbishment. Over £17 million of public money has been spent on the Ulster Museum and it would be a pity if the public could not enjoy its facilities on a Monday.

“The Committee has commissioned research to examine the evidence which was presented by National Museums NI and NIPSA regarding the impact of the changes to the current opening hours.

“The Committee was also concerned that it was not consulted by National Museums NI about this change in policy, given our role as a scrutiny committee of DCAL, including its arms length bodies.”

The Committee was taking evidence from National Museums Northern Ireland and NIPSA about these newly introduced changes to museum opening hours. The new opening times, which come into effect immediately, will mean that the Ulster Museum (when it re-opens), the Ulster Folk and Transport Museum and the Ulster American Folk Park will close on Mondays.

The change has been introduced to allow longer opening hours at weekends.


Note to Editor

The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Barry McElduff MLA.
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr David McNarry MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:

Mr Dominic Bradley MLA
Mr PJ Bradley MLA
Mr Francie Brolly MLA
The Lord Browne MLA
Mr Trevor Clarke MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA
Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA

The Clerk to the Committee is – Kathryn Bell
Committee Office
Northern Ireland Assembly
Room 424 Parliament Buildings
Telephone: 028 90 521841
Fax: 028 90 521355
E Mail:

For media enquiries, please contact:

Debra Savage,
Communications Officer,
Northern Ireland Assembly
Telephone – 028 90 521405
Mobile: 07920 864221
Website Address –
Email –