Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo



18 February 2011
CAL 09/10/11


The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure has heard from Libraries NI —the body that governs libraries— on possible library closures throughout Northern Ireland outside Belfast.

Following a review of over 70 libraries by Libraries NI, 44 were deemed viable, 21 were classed as needing major work or a new building and ten libraries were classed as potentially unviable.

Libraries are considered unviable if they can’t provide services like space for community activities and/or public computers. They are also considered unviable if they are in a state of disrepair requiring major and costly renovations, have few active borrowers and are not in the right location to serve their communities.

Chair of the Committee, Barry McElduff, MLA said: “The Committee is alarmed to hear that ten of our rural libraries have been earmarked for closure. You must not underestimate the value that libraries add to communities, especially in rurally located, socially and economic deprived areas.

“We feel that there should not be a presumption of closure for these ten libraries but Libraries NI should look to engage with the communities to energise library users and encourage new readers to join their local libraries and if it is necessary, to consider sharing buildings with other public institutions.

“We ask Libraries NI to give assurances that they are going to listen to the concerns of the people of these communities and us, the elected representatives. With job losses, school closures and cut backs in transportation routes, something urgently needs to be done to ensure that rural communities do not lose their libraries as well.”


Notes to Editors:

Libraries that could close are: Carnlough, Draperstown, Fintona, Gilford, Kells and Connor, Killyleagh, Moneymore, Moy and Richhill.

Committee Membership:

The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr. Barry McElduff MLA.
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr. Declan O’Loan MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:

Mr Thomas Burns MLA
The Lord Browne MLA
Mr David Hilditch MLA
Mr William Humphrey MLA
Mr Billy Leonard MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
Mr David McClarty MLA
Mr Pat Sheehan MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA

The Clerk to the Committee is Lucia Wilson

Committee Office
Northern Ireland Assembly
Room 344 Parliament Buildings
Stormont Estate, Ballymiscaw
Belfast BT4 3XX
Telephone: 028 90 521620
Fax: 028 90 521355
E Mail:

For media enquiries please contact:

Caroline Moore
Deputy Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 02890 521806
Mobile: 07900053926