Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo



25 November 2010
CAL 04/10/11


Public libraries are at the heart of local communities and any proposed cuts to the libraries budget must be carefully considered. The statement came as the Assembly Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure held its weekly meeting in the new Antrim Library.

The new library in the centre of Antrim Town was opened last month by the Culture Minister, Nelson McCausland and provides a much needed place for people to meet, study, use the internet and borrow books and music.

Committee Chairperson, Barry McElduff MLA said: “Although we are now in a very difficult financial period, the Committee believes that libraries, such as this one, should be protected from forthcoming budget cuts.

“Libraries meet government objectives across many departments in that they provide a safe and neutral environment where people of all ages and sections of the community are welcome.

“You just need to look around you today to see how well used this facility is – with people coming to use the internet, carry out research and private study. There are people of all ages and from all backgrounds. Local libraries provide a place where all people—children, the elderly and people from ethnic minorities—can feel part of the community and access the excellent resources available.”

During the visit, the Committee were briefed by Libraries NI—the body that governs libraries— on cultural heritage and from the Department for Culture, Arts and Leisure and Foras na Gaelige on the restructuring of the Irish language core-funded groups. They also received a briefing from the Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission on an Irish Language Act.


Notes for Editors

Committee Membership:
The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr. Barry McElduff MLA.
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr. Declan O’Loan MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:

Mr Thomas Burns MLA
The Lord Browne MLA
Mr David Hilditch MLA
Mr William Humphrey MLA
Mr Billy Leonard MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
Mr David McClarty MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA

The Clerk to the Committee is Lucia Wilson

Committee Office
Northern Ireland Assembly
Room 344 Parliament Buildings
Stormont Estate, Ballymiscaw
Belfast BT4 3XX
Telephone: 028 90 521620
Fax: 028 90 521355
E Mail:

For media enquiries please contact:

Caroline Moore
Deputy Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 02890 521806
Mobile : 07900053926