Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


18 February 2010

CAL 05/09/10


Members of the Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure are ‘gearing up’ for Sports Relief on 21 March. Chair of the Committee, Barry McElduff, along with Dominic Bradley and Kieran McCarthy, are taking part in the event as part of their efforts to promote the importance of participation in sport and physical activity.

Chair of the Committee, Barry McElduff said: “The Committee is concerned about the decline in adult participation in sport and physical activity and has recently begun an inquiry into the issue. Sports Relief gave us the perfect opportunity to look at our own fitness levels and we were inspired to get involved.”

The Sports Institute for Northern Ireland (SINI) is supporting the initiative by designing fitness programmes for each of the Committee Members in order to help them prepare for the event in just over four weeks time. SINI is assisting the members in the areas of nutrition, physiotherapy, performance analysis, and strength and conditioning.

Barry McElduff continued, “The Committee is very grateful to The Sports Institute for their support with this initiative and hopefully, with their help, we can achieve our personal goals for the Sports Relief event, as well as championing sport and physical activity.”

The Committee launched the inquiry because it is concerned at the low levels of participation in sport and physical activity among the adult population. The inquiry will produce a report identifying the barriers which prevent more people from getting involved in physical activity and consider solutions to those issues.

From Friday, 19 February, you can follow the Committee Members’ progress through their fitness programme through interviews, photographs and videos at


Notes for Editors:

Under the Programme for Government 2008-2011, the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure has a target for halting the decline in adult participation in sport and physical recreation by securing 53% participation. The Committee is concerned that all steps are taken as necessary to meet that target.

Within that framework the Committee will specifically:

Committee Membership:

The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Barry McElduff MLA.
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr David McNarry MLA
The Committee has a further nine members:
Mr Dominic Bradley MLA
Mr PJ Bradley MLA
The Lord Browne MLA
Mr Trevor Clarke MLA
Mr Billy Leonard MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA
Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA

The Clerk to the Committee is Kathryn Bell
Committee Office
Northern Ireland Assembly
Room 424 Parliament Buildings
Stormont Estate, Ballymiscaw
Telephone: 028 90 521841
Fax: 028 90 521355
E Mail:

For media inquiries please contact:
Caroline Moore
Deputy Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 02890 521806
Mobile : 07900053926