Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo




Mr Barry McElduff MLA (Chairperson)
Mr David McNarry MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Dominic Bradley MLA
Mr Francie Brolly MLA
Lord Browne MLA
Mr Paul Maskey MLA
Mr Nelson McCausland MLA
Mr Pat Ramsey MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA
Mr Jim Shannon MLA

Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA

In attendance:
Mrs Linda Gregg (Clerk)
Mrs Elaine Farrell (Assistant Clerk)
Miss Mairéad Higgins (Clerical Supervisor)
Mrs Angela Aboagye (Clerical Officer)

The meeting opened at 2.06 p.m. in public session

1. Apologies

Apologies as detailed above.

Mr Robinson arrived at 2.08 p.m.
Mr Bradley arrived at 2.10 p.m.

2. Discussion on issues following the meeting with the Minister, officials and PriceWaterhouseCoopers on the proposed Multi Sports Stadium

The Chairperson reminded Members that the Committee agreed to ask the Permanent Secretary (DCAL) for a copy of his letter which was sent with the Business Case for the Multi-Sports Stadium. The Chairperson referred Members to a letter received by the Clerk from the Permanent Secretary stating that he has not reached a definite position on the proposal due to the requirement of clarification on a number of issues.

Agreed – the Committee agreed to write to the Permanent Secretary to express disappointment that he was unable to release the letter to which the Minister referred when he attended a Committee meeting on 21 February 2008 and to ask the Permanent Secretary for the precise details (i.e. numbers, what the issues are) regarding the matters on which he requires clarification.

Mr McNarry arrived at 2.14 p.m.
Mr Maskey arrived at 2.16 p.m.
Mr Robinson left the meeting at 2.19 p.m.
Mr Shannon arrived at 2.24 p.m.

Agreed – following discussions on the Business Case for the Multi Sports Stadium, the Committee agreed to forward questions to Committee office staff to assist the Clerk to compile a list for the Committee to sign off.

3. Date, time and place of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure will take place on Thursday 28 February 2008 at 10.30 a.m. in Room 152, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 3.06 p.m.

Mr Barry McElduff, MLA
Chairperson, Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure

21 February 08 / Menu