Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


Mr Barry McElduff MLA (Chairperson)
Mr David McNarry MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Dominic Bradley MLA
Mr Francie Brolly MLA
Lord Browne MLA
Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
Mr Nelson McCausland MLA
Mr Pat Ramsey MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA
Mr Jim Shannon MLA

Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA

In attendance:
Dr Kathryn Bell (Clerk)
Mrs Antonia Hoskins (Assistant Clerk)
Mrs Elaine Farrell (Assistant Clerk)
Miss Mairéad Higgins (Clerical Supervisor)
Miss Heather Galbraith (Clerical Officer)

The meeting opened in public session at 12.35 p.m.

1. Apologies

The apologies are detailed above.

2. Review of the evidence session with the Arts Council on 31 March 2009

Agreed :The Committee agreed to write to the Arts Council to askwhat progress has been made on developing a formal scheme of delegation and a schedule of powers reserved to the board and whether it agrees that a formal scheme needs to be adopted.

Agreed : The Committee agreed to write to the Arts Council to ask for a copy of its risk register and for details on how it assesses risk.

The Committee noted the response from the Minister on claims for damages made by promoters of events which were due to be supported by the Northern Ireland Events Company.

Agreed : The Committee agreed to write to the Minister to request further information on claims made for both non-payment and for damages.

The Committee noted the response from the Department advising that members of the Board and the Management Committee of the Armagh Observatory and Planetarium were scheduled to receive training in June and September 2009.

Agreed : The Committee agreed to write to the Department in mid June and mid September for confirmation that this training had been completed.

1.05 p.m. Mr Ramsey joined the meeting.

3. Review of DCAL’s management of its arms length bodies – case study with Sport NI

The following officials from the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure and representatives from Sport NI joined the meeting:

Mr Paul Sweeney (Permanent Secretary)
Ms Hazel Campbell (Acting Head of Sport, Museums and Recreation)
Professor Eamonn McCartan (Chief Executive Sport NI)
Mr Dominic Walsh (Chairperson Sport NI)

The officials and representatives briefed the Committee. This was followed by a question and answer session.

1.45 p.m. Mr Bradley left the meeting.
1.59 p.m. Lord Browne left the meeting.
1.59 p.m. Mr Robinson left the meeting.
2.00 p.m. Mr Brolly left the meeting.

The officials and representatives agreed to respond to the Committee on a number of issues.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that the committee office staff would consider the Hansard from the meeting to ascertain if further information and clarification would be required from the officials and representatives.

4. Any other business

Agreed : The Committee agreed to write to Glentoran Football Club and Portadown Football Club to congratulate them on their recent successes.

5. Date and time of next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure will be on Thursday 7 May 2009 at 10.30 a.m. in Room 152, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 2.12 p.m.

Mr Barry McElduff MLA
Chairperson, Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure
7 May 2009

30 April 09 / Menu