Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo



Mr David McNarry MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Dominic Bradley MLA
Mr Francie Brolly MLA
Lord Browne MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
Mr Nelson McCausland MLA
Mr Pat Ramsey MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA

Mr Barry McElduff MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Jim Shannon MLA

In attendance:
Dr Kathryn Bell (Clerk)
Mrs Antonia Hoskins (Assistant Clerk)
Mrs Elaine Farrell (Assistant Clerk)
Miss Mairéad Higgins (Clerical Supervisor)
Mrs Angela Aboagye (Clerical Officer)

10.34 a.m In the absence of a Chairperson the Clerk assumed the Chair .

1. Election of Chairperson

In the absence of the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson, the Clerk took the chair for the election of a committee chairperson. Mr Kieran McCarthy proposed that Mr Ken Robinson do take the chair of the Committee. Mr Pat Ramsey seconded the motion. No other nominations were received by the Clerk, and Mr Robinson was duly elected as chairperson.

10.35 a.m. Mr Robinson assumed the chair.

The meeting opened in public session at 10.35 a.m.

10.36 a.m. Mr Brolly joined the meeting.
10.37 a.m. Mr McCausland joined the meeting.
10.38 a.m. Mr McCartney joined the meeting.

2. Apologies

The apologies are detailed above.

3. Committee’s Review into the Department’s management of the Northern Ireland Event Company and its other Arms Length Bodies

The following officials from the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure and the Department of Finance and Personnel joined the meeting:

Mr Paul Sweeney (Permanent Secretary)

Ms Deborah Brown (Director of Finance)

Mr Gavin Patrick (Head of Governance Support Unit)

Ms Alison Caldwell (DFP Arms Length Body Review Team)

11.04 a.m. Mr McNarry joined the meeting.
11.07a.m. Mr Robinson vacated the chair.
11.07a.m. Mr McNarry assumed the chair.

The officials briefed the Committee on how the Department is reviewing its management of its arms length bodies. This was followed by a question and answer session. The officials agreed to provide clarification in writing on a number of issues.

12.11 p.m. Mr Bradley left the meeting.
12.17 p.m. Mr Ramsey left the meeting.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to revisit the issue of the level of policy expertise within sponsorship branches vis-à-vis that contained in the arms length bodies at a future meeting.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that the Clerk would draft a paper based on the Hansard of the meeting, setting out suggested recommendations to the Department regarding its review of its management of the arms length bodies.

4. Date and time of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Culture, Arts and Leisure Committee will be held on Thursday 5 March 2009 at 10.30 a.m. in Room 152.

The Deputy Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 12.24 p.m.
Mr David McNarry MLA
Deputy Chairperson, Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure
5 March 2009

26 February 09 / Menu