Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo



Mr Barry McElduff MLA (Chairperson)
Mr David McNarry MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Dominic Bradley MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
Mr Pat Ramsey MLA

Apologies: Lord Browne MLA
Mr Francie Brolly MLA
Mr Nelson McCausland MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA
Mr Jim Shannon MLA

In attendance: Dr Kathryn Bell (Clerk)
Mrs Antonia Hoskins (Assistant Clerk)
Miss Mairéad Higgins (Clerical Supervisor)
Mrs Angela Aboagye (Clerical Officer)

The meeting opened in public session at 2.07 p.m.

  1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

  1. Discussion on a possible Northern Ireland Theatre Initiative

The Chairperson advised Members that purpose of the meeting was for the Committee to get an idea of the level of support amongst stakeholders for a theatre initiative or any alternative proposals that they may have for developing the local theatre sector.

The following representatives joined the meeting:

Mr Drew McFarlane - NI Secretary of Equity
Mr JJ Murphy - Actor
Mr Richard Croxford - Artistic Director of the Lyric Theatre
Ms Gilly Campbell - Arts Council
Mr David Mann - Arts Branch DCAL
Ms Catriona McLaughlin - Theatre Director
Ms Bryony Flanaghan - Project Manager, NI Theatre Association
Mr Tony McCance - Association of Regional Theatres & Manager of Burnavon Theatre Cookstown.

The Chairperson invited each re presentative to make a statement regarding their views on the idea of a theatre initiative, or any alternative proposals that they may have for developing the local theatre sector.

2.30 p.m. Mr McCarthy left the meeting.
2.36 p.m. Mr Bradley joined the meeting.
3.14 p.m. The Chairperson vacated the chair.
3.14 p.m. The Deputy Chairperson assumed the chair.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

The Deputy Chairperson advised the representatives that the Committee would discuss the issues which had been raised at its meeting on Thursday 27 November 2008.

  1. Date and time of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure will be on Thursday 27 November 2008 at 10.00 am, in Room 152 Parliament Buildings.

The Deputy Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 3.33 p.m.

Barry McElduff
Chairperson, Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure
27 November 2008

20 November 08 / Menu