Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo



Mr David McNarry MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Dominic Bradley MLA
Lord Browne MLA
Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
Mr Nelson McCausland MLA
Mr Pat Ramsey MLA
Mr Ken Robinson MLA
Mr Jim Shannon MLA

Mr Barry McElduff MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Francie Brolly MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA

In attendance:
Mrs Nuala Dunwoody (Clerk Assistant)
Dr Kathryn Bell (Clerk)
Mrs Antonia Hoskins (Assistant Clerk)
Miss Mairéad Higgins (Clerical Supervisor)
Mrs Angela Aboagye (Clerical Officer)
Ms Meadhbh McCann (Research & Library Service)

The meeting opened in closed session at 10.33 a.m.

10.33 a.m. The Clerk assumed the chair.

1. Election of Chairperson

In the absence of the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson, the Clerk took the chair for the election of a committee chairperson. Mr Pat Ramsey moved that Mr Raymond McCartney do take the chair of the Committee. Mr Dominic Bradley seconded the motion. No other nominations were received by the Clerk, and Mr McCartney was duly elected as chairperson.

10.35 a.m. The Clerk suspended the meeting.
10.39 a.m. The meeting reopened in closed session.
10.39 a.m. Mr McCartney assumed the chair.

2. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

10.40 a.m. Mr McCartney vacated the chair.
10.40 a.m. Mr McNarry assumed the chair.

3. Departmental briefing on the Northern Ireland Events Company

The Deputy Chairperson advised Members that any proposal regarding access to the full KPMG Report would be discussed at the Committee’s next meeting on Thursday 9 October 2008.

The following officials from the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure joined the meeting:
Mr Paul Sweeney (Permanent Secretary)
Mr Mick Cory (Director of Sports, Museums and Recreation Division)

Departmental Officials briefed the Committee on extracts from the KPMG report and on the actions being taken by the Department to investigate the matter in full. This was followed by a question and answer session.

11.00 Mr McCausland left the meeting.
12.06 Mr Bradley left the meeting.

Departmental Officials provided Members with a copy of the CIPFA Review regarding the sponsorship arrangements between the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure and its arms-length bodies.

Departmental officials agreed to provide further information to the Committee.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to defer further consideration of the issues until its meeting of 9 October 2008.

4. Date and time of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure will be on Thursday 9 October 2008 at 10.00 am, in Room 152 Parliament Buildings.

The Deputy Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 12.52 p.m.

David McNarry
Deputy Chairperson, Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure
9 October 2008

02 Oct 08 / Menu