NI Assembly Banner

Homepage > The Work of the Assembly > Committees > Statutory Committees

Statutory Committees

Section 29(1)(a) of the Northern Ireland Act (1998) requires that Standing Orders 'make provision for establishing committees of Members of the Assembly (statutory committees) to advise and assist each Northern Ireland minister in the formulation of policy with respect to matters within his/her responsibilities as a minister'.

Standing Order 48(2) confers on the statutory commitees the powers and responsibilities described in paragraph 9 of Strand One of the Belfast Agreement. These are:

  • Consider and advise on departmental budgets and annual plans in the context of the overall budget allocation;
  • Consider relevant secondary legislation and take the Committee Stage of relevant primary legislation;
  • Call for persons and papers;
  • Initiate inquiries and make reports; and
  • Consider and advise on matters brought to the committee by its minister.

Each Statutory Committee has eleven members.

Contact Us           Sitemap            Links           Search