NI Assembly Banner

Homepage > The Work of the Assembly > Committees > Finance and Personnel > Press Releases


16 March 2011
F&P 02/10/11


The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Finance and Personnel today welcomed a decision by the Minister of Finance and Personnel to amend existing Building Regulations to set a requirement for the installation of carbon monoxide (CO) alarms.

Speaking after today’s meeting, Chairperson of the Committee, Daithí McKay MLA said: “The Committee first raised the issue of CO alarms with the Minister of Finance and Personnel in September 2010 following the tragic deaths of two young people in Castlerock last summer. Since then, other tragedies have further highlighted the need for the compulsory installation of these alarms.

“The Committee is encouraged to see that the Minister has listened to its concerns on this matter, and indeed those of the wider Assembly. MLAs believe that this is a vital step which has the potential to save lives in the future.”

“Monitoring the way this decision is implemented will, of course, fall to the incoming Committee for Finance and Personnel. However, I have every confidence that this will be a priority for the new Mandate.”


Notes for Editors

The Committee for Finance and Personnel is one of the statutory committees established by the Northern Ireland Assembly on 9 May 2007.

As per paragraph 9 of Strand One of the Belfast Agreement, Statutory Committees have the power to:

  • consider and advise on departmental budgets and annual plans in the context of the overall budget allocation;
  • approve relevant secondary legislation and take the Committee stage of relevant primary legislation;
  • call for persons and papers;
  • initiate inquiries and make reports; and,
  • consider and advise on matters brought to the Committee by its Minister.

The Bill and Explanatory and Financial Memorandum can be found at:

Committee Members:

Daithí McKay (Chairperson) (Sinn Fein)
David McNarry (Deputy Chairperson) (UUP)
Dr Stephen Farry (Alliance)
Paul Frew (DUP)
Paul Girvan (DUP)
Simon Hamilton (DUP)
Jennifer McCann (Sinn Fein)
Mitchel McLaughlin (Sinn Fein)
Adrian McQuillan (DUP)
Declan O’Loan (SDLP)
Dawn Purvis (Independent)

Further information on the work of the Committee is available on the Committee pages of the Northern Ireland Assembly website:

Media enquiries should be addressed to:

Debra Savage
Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Telephone 028 9052 1405
Mobile: 07920 864221


Contact Us           Jobs            Sitemap            Links           Search            RSS Feeds