NI Assembly Banner

Homepage > The Work of the Assembly > Committees > Social Development > Press Releases



10 March 2011

Ref: SD 07/10/11

Assembly Committee visits Regeneration Projects in Newry

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Social Development visited community development and urban regeneration projects in Newry today. The visit was hosted by the Community Network Development Forum and showcased its work with the local Community Association.

Committee Chairperson, Mr. Simon Hamilton, MLA said: “The Committee is very pleased to be able to visit Newry today and see the successful work done by these organisations. The work of such groups to provide solutions to the housing, social and environmental issues in their area is very important. What we have seen today in the Carnagat area of Newry is a great example of this.”

The Committee also held its regular meeting at Ballybot House, a building owned and managed by the Confederation of Community Groups. The Committee received briefings on the Carer’s Allowance Bill and the review of the Northern Ireland Housing Executive.


Notes to Editors

Photograph: The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Social Development visited Newry on Thursday 10 March 2011. The Committee held its meeting at Ballybot House and visited the Carnagat Community Association.

Pictured L-R: Carál Ní Chuilín MLA, Committee Chairperson Simon Hamilton MLA, Cathy Rice Chairperson Community Development Networks Forum, Raymond Jackson, Chief Executive Officer Confederation of Community Groups, Billy Ashe, Member of the Confederation of Community Groups, Anna Lo MLA, Fra McCann MLA and Mickey Brady MLA.

The Committee for Social Development membership is:

Mr. Simon Hamilton MLA (Chairperson)
Ms. Carál Ní Chuilín MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr. Sydney Anderson MLA
Mrs. Mary Bradley MLA
Mr. Mickey Brady MLA
Mr. Fred Cobain MLA
Mr. Jonathan Craig MLA
Mr. Alex Easton MLA
Mr. Tommy Gallagher MLA
Ms. Anna Lo MLA
Mr. Fra McCann MLA

The Clerk of the Social Development Committee is:

Peter McCallion
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 028 90 521864
Mobile : 07825141294

Media enquiries to:

Jennifer Pleavin
Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 028 9052 1606
Mobile : 07502 379339

Sinead Murphy
Deputy Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 028 9052 5938
Mobile : 078 998 64368


Contact Us           Jobs            Sitemap            Links           Search            RSS Feeds