Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo



17 January 2008

RD 14 /07

Airport Plans taking off

Commenting on the ongoing development at Belfast International Airport during a Regional Development Committee visit to the airport on Wednesday 16 January 2008, the Chairperson of the Committee , Fred Cobain MLA, said:

“The Committee is pleased to visit the airport and to hear of its recent development and future plans.

“Air links are important for Northern Ireland, with greater connectivity bringing increasingly larger numbers of visitors here for business and leisure and enhancing commercial and trading links with the rest of the world.

“In an increasingly global market, our airports are playing a vital role in enhancing Northern Ireland’s ability to compete.”


Notes for Editors:

Membership of the Regional Development Committee is as follows:

Chairperson: Mr Fred Cobain
Deputy Chairperson: Mr Jim Wells
Committee Members: Mr William Irwin
Mr Stephen Moutray
Mr George Robinson
Mr Brian Wilson
Mr Cathal Boylan
Mr Willie Clarke
Mr Raymond McCartney
Mr John Dallat
Mr John McCallister

Media enquiries to:

Kieran Dougan,
Information Office, Room B2, Parliament Buildings, Belfast BT4 3XX
Telephone 028 90521642 mobile: 07825146794

Website Address: