Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


RD08 /07

Budgets Bids

The Committee for Regional Development met on Wednesday 27 June 2007, and received briefings from the Department on Measure Investment Proposals for the forthcoming Draft Investment Strategy.

After the briefings, the Chairperson thanked the Department for attend the meeting.

The Chairperson, Fred Cobain MLA stated that:

“The Committee appreciates the restraints that are on the budget bids for 2007. However the budget bids for 2008 – 2011 must address the need for good quality, integrated roads and public transport. The need for sustainable and viable ports and airports are also critical in connecting Northern Ireland with the rest of the world. Therefore the proposed budgets for 2008 – 2011 and perhaps more importantly the investment proposals for ISNI 2, must positively reflect all of these needs.”

At next week’s meeting, Wednesday 4 July 2007, Conor Murphy, Minister for Regional Development MP, MLA will be attending. The Committee will also receive briefings from the Paddy Hillyard, Chairperson, and Joan Whiteside, panel member, of the Independent Review of Water and Sewerage.

Note for Editor:

The Northern Ireland Assembly has established a Statutory Departmental Committee for Regional Development.

Membership of the Regional Development Committee is as follows:
Chairperson: Mr Fred Cobain
Deputy Chairperson: Mr Jim Wells
Committee Members: Mr William Irwin
Mr Stephen Moutray
Mr George Robinson
Mr Brian Wilson
Mr Cathal Boylan
Mr Willie Clarke
Mr Raymond McCartney
Mr John Dallat
Mr John McCallister

The Committee will meet in Parliament Buildings on Wednesday mornings at 10.00am. Visitors are welcome to attend open sessions. Members of the public are advised to check the website prior to arriving at Parliament Buildings as it is likely the Committee will take meetings outside Parliament Buildings.

For further information on the work of the Regional Development Committee, please contact:
Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office,
Room B2, Parliament Buildings,
Belfast BT4 3XX.
Telephone 028 90521137/521396. Fax 028 90521961.
Website Address:


Regional Development Committee Office
Room 402, Parliament Buildings
Belfast, BT4 3XX.
Telephone 02890 521821 / Fax No 02890 525917