Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


RD07 /07


The Committee for Regional Development met on Wednesday 20 June 2007, and received briefings from stakeholders and interest groups on Water Reform.

After the briefings, the Chairperson thanked the stakeholders and interests groups for taking the time to attend the meeting. The Committee heard views from:

Economic Research Institute of Northern Ireland
Northern Ireland Environment Link
Help the Aged & Age Concern
Ulster Farmers Union
Goretti Horgan, School of Policy Studies, University of Ulster
CBI in Northern Ireland
Disability Action
Northern Ireland Anti-Poverty Network
Advice Northern Ireland
Rural Community Network
Citizens Advice Bureau

The Chairperson, Fred Cobain stated that:

"The Committee listened closely and with great interest to the issues raised. The main issues highlighted were the impact of water charges on vulnerable groups, the potential risk of debt and its impact on customers, and the pros and cons of metering. The Committee will ensure that the independent review panel are made aware of the concerns raised here."

At next week’s meeting, Wednesday 27 June 2007, the Committee will receive briefings from the Department on the its capital investment bids for the Investment Strategy for Northern Ireland.

Note for Editor:

The Northern Ireland Assembly has established a Statutory Departmental Committee for Regional Development.

Membership of the Regional Development Committee is as follows:


Mr Fred Cobain

Deputy Chairperson:

Mr Jim Wells

Committee Members:

Mr William Irwin


Mr Stephen Moutray


Mr George Robinson


Mr Brian Wilson


Mr Cathal Boylan


Mr Willie Clarke


Mr Raymond McCartney


Mr John Dallat


Mr John McCallister

The Committee will meet in Parliament Buildings on Wednesday mornings at 10.00am. Visitors are welcome to attend open sessions. Members of the public are advised to check the website prior to arriving at Parliament Buildings as it is likely the Committee will take meetings outside Parliament Buildings.

For further information on the work of the Regional Development Committee, please contact:

Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office,
Room B2, Parliament Buildings,
Belfast BT4 3XX.
Telephone 028 90521137/521396. Fax 028 90521961.
Website Address:


Regional Development Committee Office
Room 402, Parliament Buildings
Belfast, BT4 3XX.
Telephone 02890 521821 / Fax No 02890 525917