Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


10 December 2008

RD 06/08

Rathlin Island Ferry Contract Investigation Report

Commenting on the publication of the independent investigation into the Rathlin Island Ferry contract, the Chairperson of the Committee for Regional Development, Fred Cobain MLA, said:

“This morning, the Permanent Secretary briefed the Committee on the key findings of the investigation. 
  Although the report indicates that there was no evidence of manifest error in the award of the contract, the Committee has serious concerns that;
The Department told the Committee that it accepts the report recommendations and that appropriate action, including training, is required to begin to repair the damage caused to public confidence in the public procurement process.
The Committee has decided to schedule time in its work programme in early 2009 to more carefully consider the report findings. Undoubtedly there are lessons to be learned. Today’s session is the beginning of the process, and we are looking forward to working with the Department in improving and enhancing its performance in this area, and improving public confidence.
The Committee welcomes the publication of the Department for Regional Development’s independent investigation, and the speed with which the investigation was conducted. "    


Notes for Editors :

Membership of the Regional Development Committee is as follows:


Mr Fred Cobain


Deputy Chairperson:

Mr Jim Wells


Committee Members:

Mr Allan Bresland



Mr Alastair Ross  



Mr George Robinson



Mr Brian Wilson



Mr Cathal Boylan



Mr Willie Clarke



Mr Raymond McCartney



Mr John Dallat



Mr John McCallister


Media enquiries to:

Debra Savage,
Information Office, Parliament Buildings, Belfast BT4 3XX
Telephone 02890521642 mobile: 07825146794

Website Address: