Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo



15 January 2010

RD 03/09/10

Committee commends Roads Service

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Regional Development has commended the tireless work of the Roads Service and its staff during the current winter freeze.

Chairperson of the Committee for Regional Development, Fred Cobain MLA, said:

“The Committee for Regional Development has high regard for the efforts of Roads Service in keeping the road network open during the winter season. The snow and icy conditions have been the longest period of prolonged cold weather since 1981 and the Roads Service has been diligent in ensuring that driving conditions are as safe as possible. ”

Michelle McIlveen MLA, Deputy Chairperson of the Committee, added:

“I, and others, have seen the ongoing work at local depots since mid-December and have been extremely impressed by efforts to ensure minimum disruption on the roads. I praise the Roads Service for the manner in which they have managed resources to ensure that this continues. Coverage in the press of the problems faced in other places, as reserves fall to a very low level, highlights the importance of the work that Roads Service is doing here in Northern Ireland.”
Notes for Editors :

Membership of the Regional Development Committee is as follows:


Mr Fred Cobain

Deputy Chairperson:

Ms Michelle McIlveen

Committee Members:

Cathal Boylan MLA


Allan Bresland MLA


Willie Clarke MLA


Tommy Gallagher MLA


Danny Kinahan MLA


Raymond McCartney MLA


Ian McCrea MLA


George Robinson MLA


Brian Wilson MLA

For further information, or to arrange an interview or photo opportunity, please contact:

Jennifer Pleavin
Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 028 9052 1606
Mobile : 07502 379339

Stephanie Mallon
Deputy Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 028 9052 1953
Mobile : 07825 146794