Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo



RD 03/07


The Committee for Regional Development met on Wednesday 30 May 2007, and received briefings from Doreen Brown, Deputy Secretary of the Department with responsibility for Regional Planning and Transportation, Eleanor Gill of the Consumer Council Northern Ireland and from a common platform of the Trade Unions, including NIC ICTU, NIPSA, TGWU, GMB and AMICUS.

Thanking the Trade Unions and the Consumer Council, the Chairperson, Fred Cobain MLA, said:

“Today the Committee heard about the vulnerable groups in the Water Reform process – the customer and the water workers.

“The Trade Unions remain concerned that the proposed 500 job losses will target older workers.

“The Consumer Council estimate that up to one in four households could be facing water indebtedness if the current system remains unchanged.”

The Chairperson, Fred Cobain also said:

“The Committee will ensure that the Minister and the Executive are aware of the very real concerns from both the Consumer Council for Northern Ireland and the Trade Unions - any Review must consider how to protect the most vulnerable in our society.”

At next week’s meeting, Wednesday 6 June 2007, the Committee will receive briefing from the Chief Executive of Northern Ireland Water, Katharine Bryan.

Note for Editor:

The Northern Ireland Assembly has established a Statutory Departmental Committee for Regional Development.

Membership of the Regional Development Committee is as follows:


Mr Fred Cobain

Deputy Chairperson:

Mr Jim Wells

Committee Members:

Mr William Irwin


Mr Stephen Moutray


Mr George Robinson


Mr Brian Wilson


Mr Cathal Boylan


Mr Willie Clarke


Mr Raymond McCartney


Mr John Dallat


Mr John McCallister

The Committee will meet in Parliament Buildings on Wednesday mornings at 10.00am. Visitors are welcome to attend open sessions. Members of the public are advised to check the website prior to arriving at Parliament Buildings as it is likely the Committee will take meetings outside Parliament Buildings.

For further information on the work of the Regional Development Committee, please contact:

Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office,
Room B2, Parliament Buildings,
Belfast BT4 3XX.
Telephone 028 90521137/521396.
Fax 028 90521961.

Website Address: