Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo

Northern Ireland  Assembly

Wednesday 7 July 2010

Written Ministerial Statement

The content of this written ministerial statement is as received  at the time from the Minister. It has not been subject to the official reporting (Hansard) process.

Department for Regional Development

Roads Service: Section Offices

Published at 12.00 noon on  Wednesday 7 July 2010

The Minister for Regional Development (Mr Murphy): I wish to inform Assembly Members of plans for my Department’s Roads Service to reorganise a number of its Section Offices.

As a result of increasing financial pressure on Road Service’s admin budget, and as part of its ‘Roads Service 2012’ Project, I have approved the reorganisation of eight of Roads Service’s smaller Section Offices into four new combined Section Offices, each covering two adjacent Council areas.

This reorganisation will help Roads Service to manage budgetary pressures in 2010/11 and in future years.

This stage of the reorganisation involves combining the following Section Offices:

  • Coleraine and Limavady;
  • Lisburn and Castlereagh;
  • Banbridge and Craigavon; and
  • Magherafelt and Cookstown.

In each case, the new Section Office will look after network maintenance activities in two Council areas. Such an arrangement already exists and works well in Roads Service’s Ballymena and Larne Section Office and at its Ballymoney and Moyle Section Office.

Discussions to keep Trade Unions and the affected Councils informed will continue over the summer months, in advance of the changes being made.