NI Assembly Banner

Homepage > The Work of the Assembly > Committees > Justice > Press Releases



11 November 2010
JUS 04/10/11


The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Justice was at Hydebank Young Offenders Centre today as part of its programme of visits to all Northern Ireland prison establishments.

Speaking on behalf of the Committee, the Chairman, Lord Morrow MLA said:

“Prison issues in general and the ongoing Prison Review in particular are high on the Committee’s agenda. In addition to the regular oral and written briefings we receive, the Committee is committed to visiting all three of Northern Ireland’s prisons.

“During our visit today we have met young offenders and female prisoners, staff and prison management. These groups of offenders present specific and complex challenges and it has been most informative to discuss these in detail today. We also saw the good work that is taking place, especially in conjunction with other organisations, to assist in reducing re-offending behaviour.”

The Committee is due to receive a briefing from the Chairperson, Dame Anne Owers and the members of the Prison Review Team in the coming weeks. The Committee will hear details of progress to date in relation to the Review and will discuss the emerging key issues and findings.


Notes to Editors:

The Committee visited Maghaberry Prison in May 2010 and will be visiting Magilligan Prison in early 2011.

Membership of the Committee:

The Chairman of the Committee is Lord Morrow MLA.
The Deputy Chairman is Raymond McCartney MLA.

The Committee has a further nine members:

Lord Browne MLA
Mr Thomas Buchanan MLA
Sir Reg Empey MLA
Mr Paul Givan MLA
Mr Alban Maginness MLA
Mr Conall McDevitt MLA
Mr David McNarry MLA
Ms Carál Ní Chuilín MLA
Mr John O’Dowd MLA

All enquiries regarding the work of the Committee should be directed to the Committee Clerk:

Christine Darrah
Room 242, Parliament Buildings,
Ballymiscaw, Stormont, Belfast, BT4 3XX
Telephone: (028) 9052 1629
Fax: (028) 9052 1371

Media enquiries to:

Jennifer Pleavin
Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 028 9052 1606
Mobile : 07502 379339

Sinead Murphy
Deputy Communications Officer
Northern Ireland Assembly
Phone: 028 9052 5938
Mobile : 07899 864368

Contact Us           Jobs            Sitemap            Links           Search            RSS Feeds