Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


23 November 2007

PN: HSSPS 15/07

The Assembly Committee for Health, Social Services and Public Safety are hosting a reception for health related groups…speed dating style!

Twenty groups, who have asked to meet the Committee, have been invited to Parliament Buildings on Monday afternoon. Due to the number of groups who wish to meet the committee each will have ten minutes to speak to members directly on their issues and concerns.

Iris Robinson, Chairperson of the Committee, explained the reason for the reception:

“The Health Committee has received a large number of requests from health related groups to meet the committee. We welcome the opportunity to engage with such groups but the list of groups waiting to meet with us on an individual basis was growing. In order to see as many as possible the Committee decided to host this reception, which we believe will be of great benefit to both the groups and the Committee.”

Each of the groups has provided a one page summary of their issues and concerns and these will be followed-up by the committee after the reception.

Note to Editor:

The groups meeting the Committee are:

Allergy NI
Marie Curie Cancer Care
Northern Ireland ME Association
Cookstown Parents’ Action Group
Parents/Carers Council on Disability
Dental Laboratories Association
Premature Baby Charity for Northern Ireland (Tiny Life)
Love for Life
Ulster Cancer Foundation
Belfast & Lisburn Women’s Aid
Northern Ireland Attention Deficit & Hyperactivity Disorder (NI-ADD)
Child Brain Injury Trust
Northern Ireland Music Therapy Trust
Health Action Zone
Parkinson Disease Society
Justice for Asbestos Victims
Positive Futures
Myasthenia Gravis Association
Society of Parents & Friends of Muckamore Abbey

Committee Membership:
Mrs Iris Robinson MP (DUP) (Chairperson); Ms Michelle O’Neill (SF) (Deputy Chairperson); Mr Thomas Buchanan (DUP); Rev Dr Robert Coulter (UUP); Dr Kieran Deeny (IHC); Mr Alex Easton (DUP); Mr Tommy Gallagher (SDLP); Mrs Carmel Hanna (SDLP); Mr John McCallister (UUP); Ms Carál Ní Chuilín (SF); Ms Sue Ramsey (SF)

The Clerk to the Committee is Mr Hugh Farren, Room 412, Parliament Buildings, Stormont, Belfast BT4 3XX.
Tel No: 028 90521360 Fax No: 028 90521667

Media enquiries should be directed to: Sinead Lee, Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office, Room B2, Parliament Buildings, Belfast BT4 3XX.
Tel No: 02890-521137/521396. Fax: 02890 521961.
Website Address –