Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


7 July 2008

PN HSSPS 11/08


Views of public crucial for shaping legislation, the Committee for Health, Social Services and Public Safety today announced.

Speaking before inviting written comments on the Heath and Social Care (Reform) Bill, the Chairperson of the Committee, Mrs Iris Robinson MP MLA, said:

“It is with great pleasure that I invite written comments on this Bill. The future of our health and social services is an issue of the utmost importance and the Committee, as always, welcomes the views, guidance and advice of the public on this crucial subject.”

The Bill provides the framework for new structures to underpin an effective delivery of health and social care services in Northern Ireland.


Notes to editor:

The Health Committee is inviting written comments on the Health and Social Care (Reform) Bill. The Bill was introduced in the Assembly on 23 June 2008 and received its Second Reading on 1 July 2008. The Bill has now been referred to the Committee for Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Committee Stage.

The purpose of the Bill will be to provide the legislative framework within which the proposed new health and social care structures can operate. It seeks to set out, the high level functions of the various health and social care bodies. The Bill seeks to establish the parameters within which each health and social care body will be permitted to operate and to establish the necessary governance and accountability arrangements which will support the effective delivery of health and social care in Northern Ireland.

A copy of the Bill and the associated Explanatory and Financial Memorandum are available on the Assembly website.

Individuals and organisations are invited to submit written comments on the specific provisions of the Bill by 5.00 pm on Friday 22 August 2008. Responses should be sent to the Clerk at the address below or by e-mail to

Committee Membership:

Mrs Iris Robinson MP (DUP) (Chairperson); Ms Michelle O’Neill (SF) (Deputy Chairperson); Mr Thomas Buchanan (DUP); Rev Dr Robert Coulter (UUP); Dr Kieran Deeny (IHC); Mr Alex Easton (DUP); Mr Tommy Gallagher (SDLP); Mrs Carmel Hanna (SDLP); Mr John McCallister (UUP); Ms Claire McGill (SF); Ms Sue Ramsey (SF)

Media Enquiries to:

Stephanie Mallon, Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office, Room B2, Parliament Buildings, Belfast BT4 3XX.
Tel No: 02890-521953. Fax: 02890 521961.
Website Address –