Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


27 March 2008

HSSPS 06/08


The Assembly Health Committee, in response to the Independent Inquiry Report into the circumstances surrounding the deaths of Madeleine and Lauren O’Neill in 2005, has agreed to ask the two Health and Social Services Boards concerned and officials from the Department to brief them on the action being taken to prevent such events happening again .

Chairperson Iris Robinson MP MLA said:

“On behalf of the Health Committee I want to firstly offer my deepest sympathy to the families of Madeleine and Lauren O’Neill. The Independent Inquiry Report into the tragic deaths of Madeleine and Lauren makes very disturbing reading.

We welcome the statement by the Minister setting out his commitment to learn lessons from this tragedy and his undertaking to hold a public inquiry after the inquest in September, if that is considered necessary. The Committee will want to be fully reassured that every effort is made to make certain that cannot happen again.”

Note to Editor:

Committee Membership:

Mrs Iris Robinson MP (DUP) (Chairperson); Ms Michelle O’Neill (SF) (Deputy Chairperson); Mr Thomas Buchanan (DUP); Rev Dr Robert Coulter (UUP); Dr Kieran Deeny (IHC); Mr Alex Easton (DUP); Mr Tommy Gallagher (SDLP); Mrs Carmel Hanna (SDLP); Mr John McCallister (UUP); Ms Carál Ní Chuilín (SF); Ms Sue Ramsey (SF)

Media Enquiries to:

Stephanie Mallon, Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office, Room B2, Parliament Buildings, Belfast BT4 3XX.

Tel No: 02890-521953. Fax: 02890 521961.

Website Address –

The Clerk to the Committee is Mr Hugh Farren, Room 412, Parliament Buildings, Stormont, Belfast BT4 3XX.

Tel No: 028 90521360 Fax No: 028 90521667