Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo


19 February 2008

HSSPS 04/08


The Assembly Health Committee has welcomed the indication by the Health Minister that he is minded to carry out a public inquiry into the current outbreak of Clostridium Difficile after completion of the Independent Review.

Chairperson Iris Robinson MP MLA said:

“The Committee recognises that public confidence in our health service has been dented by the outbreak of C Difficile. We must all work to restore that confidence whereby anyone going into hospital can do so without the additional worry that they may be at serious risk of catching infection. Public concerns about the current outbreak were examined in detail at the Committee meeting last Thursday when we questioned the five Chief Executives of the Trusts and the Chief Medical Officer at length. After hearing the evidence the Committee agreed a motion calling on the Minister to set up a public inquiry. That inquiry must be fully independent and must be asked to report as quickly as possible.”

Note to Editor:

Committee Membership:
Mrs Iris Robinson MP (DUP) (Chairperson); Ms Michelle O’Neill (SF) (Deputy Chairperson); Mr Thomas Buchanan (DUP); Rev Dr Robert Coulter (UUP); Dr Kieran Deeny (IHC); Mr Alex Easton (DUP); Mr Tommy Gallagher (SDLP); Mrs Carmel Hanna (SDLP); Mr John McCallister (UUP); Ms Carál Ní Chuilín (SF); Ms Sue Ramsey (SF)

Media Enquiries to:
Sinead Lee, Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office, Room B2, Parliament Buildings, Belfast BT4 3XX.
Tel No: 02890-521137/521396. Fax: 02890 521961.
Website Address –

The Clerk to the Committee is Mr Hugh Farren, Room 412, Parliament Buildings, Stormont, Belfast BT4 3XX.
Tel No: 028 90521360 Fax No: 028 90521667