Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo

Welcome to the Home Page of the Environment Committee which has been established to advise and assist the Minister of the Environment, Mr Dermot Nesbitt in the formulation of policy with respect to matters within his responsibilities and to undertake a scrutiny, policy development and consultation role with respect to the Minister of the Environment, Mr Dermot Nesbitt.

Here you will find information about the Committee membership and the work of the Committee.


Mr David Ford

Democratic Unionist Party

Rev Dr William McCrea*
Mr Edwin Poots

Sinn Fein

Mr Francie Molloy1
Ms Mary Nelis2

Social Democratic and Labour Party Ms Patricia Lewsley**3
Mr Michael Coyle4
Ulster Unionist Party Mrs Joan Carson
Mr William Armstrong5
Mr David McClarty6
United Unionist Assembly Party

Mr Denis Watson

**Deputy Chairperson

1. Mr Francie Molloy replaced Mr Mitchell McLaughlin on 4 February 2002.
2. Mrs Mary Nelis replaced Mr Mick Murphy on 1 July 2002.
3. Ms Patricia Lewsley replaced Ms Carmel Hanna on 21 January 2002.
4. Mr Michael Coyle replaced Mr Arthur Doherty on 16 September 2002. Mr Doherty died on 6 February 2003.
5. Mr William Armstrong replaced Mr James Leslie on 8 April 2002.
6. Mr David McClarty replaced Mr Tom Hamilton on 26 February 2001. Mr Hamilton replaced Mr Tom Benson on 29 January 2001. Mr Benson died on 24 December 2000.