Northern Ireland Assembly Flax Flower Logo

Welcome to the Home Page of the Education Committee which has been established to advise and assist the Minister of Education, Mr Martin McGuinness MP in the formulation of policy with respect to matters within his responsibilities and to undertake a scrutiny, policy development and consultation role with respect to the Minister of Education, Mr Martin McGuinness MP.

Here you will find information about the Committee membership and the work of the Committee.

Alliance Mrs Eileen Bell
Democratic Unionist Party Mr Sammy Wilson**
Mr Oliver Gibson
Sinn Fein Mr Mitchel McLaughlin1
Mr Gerry McHugh
Social Democratic and Labour Party Mr John Fee
Mr Tommy Gallagher
Mr Alban Maginness2
Ulster Unionist Party Mr Danny Kennedy*
Mr Tom Hamilton3
Mr Ken Robinson

**Deputy Chairperson


1. Mr Mitchel McLaughlin replaced Mr Barry McElduff on 1 July 2002.
2. Mr Alban Maginness replaced Ms Patricia Lewsley on 20 May 2002.
3. Mr Tom Hamilton replaced Mr Tom Benson on 29 January 2001. Mr Benson died on 24 December 2000.