NI Assembly Banner

Homepage > The Work of the Assembly > Committees > Assembly Members (Independent Financial Review and Standards) Bill > Minutes

Ad Hoc Committee on the Assembly Members
(Independent Financial Review and Standards) Bill


Mr Fred Cobain MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Conall McDevitt MLA
Mr Paul Givan MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
Mr Daithí McKay MLA

In Attendance:
Mrs Shauna Mageean (Assembly Clerk)
Mrs Sohui Yim (Assistant Clerk)
Mr Michael Greer (Clerical Supervisor)
Ms Michelle McDowell (Clerical Officer)

Ms Sue Ramsey MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr John Dallat MLA
Mr Jim Wells MLA

The meeting commenced at 2.14pm in open session.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Draft minutes of the meetings held on 29 th November 2010

Agreed: The draft minutes of the meeting held on 29 th November 2010 were agreed by the Committee.

3. Matters arising

Members noted correspondence from the Clerk of the Commission, providing clarification on the appointments process for the proposed Independent Financial Review Panel.

4. Correspondence

Members noted a report by the House of Commons Committee on Standards and Privileges in relation to the power of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards in Westminster to initiate investigations.

Members noted advice from the Examiner of Statutory Rules regarding his scrutiny of the delegated powers within the Bill.

5. Consideration of Written Submissions

Members considered the written submissions to the Bill.

6. Informal Clause-by-Clause Scrutiny

Members discussed each clause and schedule of the Bill.

Agreed: To receive clarification from Standards and Privileges officials at the meeting of 13 th December regarding Clause 20 and Schedule 3: Disqualification from being appointed or serving as the Commissioner.

7. Committee Forward Work Programme

Members noted the changes in the Committee’s forward work programme.

Agreed: Content with the changes.

8. Any Other Business

There were no other items of business.

9. Time, date and place of next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will take place on Monday, 13 th December 2010 at 3.30pm in the Senate Chamber.

Members noted that the Committee will have a final briefing from officials, will be briefed on amendments to Part 2 of the Bill and will conclude the informal clause by clause scrutiny of the Bill.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 2.38pm.

Mr Fred Cobain MLA
Chairperson, Ad Hoc Committee
13 th December, 2010

29 November 10 / Menu

Contact Us           Jobs            Sitemap            Links           Search            RSS Feeds